Smashing Pumpkins to Release Massive Box Set for Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness

From Paste Magazine:

In 1995 the Smashing Pumpkins released their double album Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness. Today, the album is still recognized as one of the band’s most iconic collections, one that spawned massive hits like “1979” and “Bullet With Butterfly Wings.”

After nearly 17 years, Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness is being remastered and reissued just in time for the holiday season. The reissue will not just simply be the CD reproduced, but instead will be offered in many different forms. Fans will have the option of purchasing Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness as four LP records, two CDs, digitally, or as a deluxe five-CD/one-DVD box set, which features 106 tracks.

Yes, the box set will the be the ultimate collectable item for any Smashing Pumpkins fan. Three of the five CDs will be comprised of bonus material that include demos, live takes, previously unreleased songs and alternate mixes of many of the tracks. Each CD is named after a different kind of tea (fitting since Corgan just opened a new tea store), Morning Tea, High Tea and finally Special Tea. The DVD is of the 1996 concert at London’s Brixton Academy and also a 1996 performance of the band on the German television program “Rockpalast.”

As if the promise of 106 Smashing Pumpkins tracks is not nice enough, the band really paid attention to the actual physical box in which the CDs and DVD will come in. The box has a new “reimagined cover art” and all the CDs and the DVD come in a velvet protective disc holder. Also included in the box will be two books of liner notes, lyrics and collages from the band. For all the crafty Smashing Pumpkins fans, Corgan and crew also provide a decoupage kit for creating a personal scene of the Mellon Collie universe.

The reissued album and box set will be available in stores internationally on Dec. 3 and in North America on Dec. 4. Check out the track listing below for all five of the CDs in the box set.

Dawn to Dusk
1. Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness

2. Tonight, Tonight

3. Jellybelly

4. Zero

5. Here Is No Why

6. Bullet With Butterfly Wings

7. To Forgive

8. An Ode to No One

9. Love

10. Cupid De Locke

11. Galapogos

12. Muzzle

13. Porcelina of the Vast Oceans

14. Take Me Down

Twilight to Starlight
1. Where Boys Fear to Tread

2. Bodies

3. Thirty-Three
4. In the Arms of Sleep

5. 1979
6. Tales of a Scorched Earth

7. Thru the Eyes of Ruby

8. Stumbleine

9. X.Y.U.

10. We Only Come Out at Night

11. Beautiful

12. Lily (My One and Only)

13. By Starlight

14. Farewell and Goodnight

Morning Tea
1. Tonight, Tonight (Strings Alone mix)

2. Methusela *

3. X.Y.U. (Take 11)

4. Zero (Synth mix)

5. Feelium *

6. Autumn Nocturne *

7. Beautiful (Loop version)

8. Ugly *

9. Ascending Guitars *

10 By Starlight (Flood rough)

11. Medellia of the Gray Skies (Take 1)

12. Lover (Arrangement 1 demo)

13. Thru the Eyes Of Ruby (Take 7)

14. In the Arms of Sleep (Early Live demo)

15. Lily (My One And Only) *

16. 1979 *

17. Glamey Glamey *

18. Meladori Magpie

19. Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness (Home Piano version)

20. Galapagos (Instrumental) *

21. To Forgive *

High Tea
1. Bullet With Butterfly Wings *

2. Set the Ray to Jerry (Vocal Rough)

3. Thirty-Three *

4. Cupid De Locke (BT 2012 mix)

5. Porcelina of the Vast Oceans (Live Studio rough)

6. Jellybelly (Instrumental/Pit mix 3)

7. The Aeroplane Flies High (Turns Left, Looks Right)

8. Jupiter’s Lament (Barbershop version)

9. Bagpipes Drone *

10. Tonight, Tonight (Band Version Only, No Strings)

11. Knuckles (Studio outtake)

12. Pennies

13. Here Is No Why (Pumpkinland demo)

14. Blast (Fuzz version)
15. Towers of Rabble (Live)

16. Rotten Apples

17. Fun Time *

18. Thru the Eyes Of Ruby (Acoustic version)

19. Chinoise *

20. Speed

Special Tea
1.Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness (Nighttime version 1)

2. Galapagos *

3. Cherry (BT 2012 mix)

4. Love (Flood rough)

5. New Waver *

6. Fuck You (an ode to no one) (Production Master rough)

7. Isolation (BT 2012 mix)

8. Transformer (Early mix)

9. Dizzle *

10. Goodnight (Basic Vocal rough)

11. Eye (Soundworks demo)

12. Blank *

13. Beautiful (Instrumental-Middle 8)

14. My Blue Heaven (BT 2012 mix)

15. One and Two

16. Zoom (7 ips)

17. Pastichio Medley (Reversed extras)

18. Marquis in Spades (BT 2012 mix)

19. Tales of a Scorched Earth (Guitar Overdub mix)

20. Tonite Reprise (Version 1)

21. Wishing You Were Real (Home demo)

22. Thru the Eyes of Ruby (Pit mix 3)

23. Phang