Polaris Music Prize announces SiriusXM Canada as official Radio Broadcaster as well as June 13th Montreal venue for Long List & Salon


Steve Jordan, Founder and Executive Director of the Polaris Music Prize, today announced the official radio broadcaster of the 2013 Polaris Music Prize Gala. The Montreal venue for this year’s Long List announcement has also been revealed, along with the details of the Polaris Salon that will follow.

SiriusXM Canada will once again be the official radio broadcaster of the 2013 Polaris Music Prize Gala, taking place September 23rd at The Carlu in Toronto. The Gala will be heard live on The Verge XM 151 and Iceberg on Sirius 151. SiriusXM has been in partnership with Polaris Music Prize since the prize’s inception in 2006.

“We’re proud to continue our partnership with Polaris Music Prize and look forward to providing our North American listening audience broadcast performances from the gala event featuring Canada’s favourite bands,” said Jeff Leake, Director, Music Programming, SiriusXM Canada.

It was also announced today that the 2013 Polaris Music Prize Long List will be revealed at the Phi Centre in Montreal on June 13th and hosted by Andreanne Sasseville of SiriusXM. The Phi Centre, with a mission to be Montreal’s premiere gathering place for art, will also be celebrating its first year since opening its doors in June 2012. Located in historic Old Montreal, it houses several arts and culture spaces ranging from theatres and concert rooms to recording studios and galleries.

Following the announcement and reception for the Long List will be the Polaris Music Prize’s first lunch-time salon! Moderated by Steve Jordan, Director and Founder of The Polaris Music Prize, panelists include Melissa Hetu of TFO, Andréanne Sasseville, and other Montreal based jury members to be announced.

The Short List will be unveiled on July 16th at The Drake Hotel in Toronto. The Polaris gala will be held on September 23rd at The Carlu in Toronto. The eligibility period for the 2013 Polaris Music Prize runs from June 1, 2012 to May 31, 2013. An independent jury of over 200 music journalists, broadcasters and music bloggers from across Canada determine the Long List and Short List. Eleven people are selected from thelarger jury pool to serve on the Grand Jury. The grand jury convenes the night of the gala to select the Polaris Music Prize winner.

The Polaris Music Prize awards $30,000 to the artist who creates the Canadian Album of the Year. Judged solely on artistic merit, without consideration of genre or record sales, the prize’s past winners have included Feist (2012), Arcade Fire (2011), Karkwa (2010), Fucked Up (2009), Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007), and Final Fantasy (Owen Pallett) (2006).