Canadian Country Music Association Award Broadcast thunders through Edmonton as fans cheer on CCMA Award winners

Canadian country music rocked Canada from coast to coast tonight, as the 31stCCMA Awards show took place in Edmonton, Alberta. The final eight Canadian Country Music Association Awards™ were given out in a rousing televised ceremony live from Rexall Place.

Crowd favourite Gord Bamford headed to this year’s Country Music Week® leading the pack with seven nominations. Tonight he picked up three 2013 CCMA Awards for Album of the YearSingle of the Year, and CMT Video of the Year. In total, Bamford won five 2013 CCMA Awards, having previously shared a win earlier in the week with Buddy Owens and Ray Stephenson for Songwriter(s) of the Year, and with Byron Hill for Record Producer of the Year.

Dean Brody also came away a winner, taking home top honour as the Male Artist of the Year, while Kira Isabellawon Female Artist of the Year. Last year Isabella won the CCMA Rising Star Award, which this year went to newcomer Bobby Wills, who counts the honour as his first-ever CCMA Award win. The Stellas were also recognized as Group or Duo of the Year, rounding out the awards for 2013.

The 2013 CCMA Awards Broadcast brought together lauded Canadian country music talent from across the country and included crowd pleasing performances by Autumn HillGord BamfordJason BlaineDean BrodyChad BrownleeGeorge CanyonEmerson DriveTim HicksHigh ValleyKira IsabellaBrett KisselDeric Ruttan,Small Town PistolsTebeyDallas Smith and Bobby Wills.

There was no shortage of international stars in the crowd either, as multi-Platinum artists The Band PerryHunter Hayes, and Darius Rucker performed live, with Hayes and Rucker also presenting awards.

The full list of 2013 CCMA Award winners announced at the CCMA Awards Broadcast is:

Fans’ Choice Award 
Terri Clark

Single of the Year
“Leaning On A Lonesome Song” – Gord Bamford

Album of the Year
Is It Friday Yet? – Gord Bamford

CMT Video of the Year
“Leaning On A Lonesome Song” – Gord Bamford

Female Artist of the Year
Kira Isabella

Male Artist of the Year
Dean Brody

Group or Duo of the Year
The Stellas

Bobby Wills