Famous Women Sing Along To A 50-Year-Old Classic For Their Rights

In 2013, there were more laws passed to limit women’s reproductive rights than in the entire previous DECADE.

Ten million more women than men voted in the last election. In fact 53% of voters were women. That is not a voting block it’s a majority. Women have decided literally every election in our lifetimes, yet, midterm turnout is historically low.

Many people may have access to good health care, but women’s experience – and their rights – shouldn’t depend on a zip code. Women in Texas, Wisconsin, North Dakota, Ohio, Arkansas, and so many other states don’t have what we have. The most regressive, anti­woman, anti­voting, anti­equality laws are being passed on the state level. This is why the MIDTERMS are so important.
It’s not enough to vote – we have to vote like our futures are on the line­ because they are. That means you vote, but you also talk about voting. You post about voting. You bring some pals to the polls.

There is a war being waged on women’s rights and everyone must fight back with everything you’ve got.

This version of Lesley Gore’s You Don’t Own Me features Abbey Lee Kershaw, Alexa Chung, Alia Penner, Alia Shawkat, Amy Rose Spiegel, Amanda Zazi Charchian , Ana Calderon, Anna Fitzpatrick, Ariana Delawari, Arrow and Ada, Barb Morrison, Becky Stark, Brodie Lancaster, Brooke Williams, Carlen Altman, Carrie Brownstein, Cassie Carello, Chapin Sisters, Courtney Hall, Courtney Martin, Elle Wagner, Erika Spring, Hannah Johnson, India Menuez, Judith Iocovozzi, Justin Vivian Bond, Karen Elson, Kate Nash, Kate Urcioli, Katy Goodman, Kime Buzzelli, Krista Bachmeier, Kristina Uriegas, Leah Siegel, Leith Clark, Lena Dunham, Lesley Gore, Lisa Mayock, Lucy Moffatt, Madelyne Beckles, Mae Whitman, Mallyce, Maximilla Lukacs, Maria Valencia, Mecca Andrews, Meg Olsen, Melissa Coker, Mia Moretti & Caitlin Moe, Mia Lidofsky, Miranda July, Natalia Czajkiewicz, Natasha Lyonne, Petra Collins, Rachel Antonoff, Rebecca Fernandez, Rain Phoenix, Riley Keough, Ruby Karp, Ryan Roche, Sarah Sophie Flicker, Shae Detar, Sia, Sophie Buhai, Tavi Gevinson, Tracee Ellis Ross.

“You Don’t Own Me” PSA – Upworthy from The Department of Peace on Vimeo.