Tom Petty, Elvis Costello, Nile Rodgers, Bernard Edwards, Marvin Gaye Inducted Into Songwriting Hall of Fame

Musical titans Elvis Costello, Marvin Gaye, Tom Petty, Nile Rodgers & Bernard Edwards and Chip Taylor will become the latest inductees of the Songwriters Hall of Fame at the organization’s 47th Annual Induction and Awards Dinner. These legendary songwriters wrote such mega-hits as “Alison,” “Sexual Healing,” “Free Fallin’,” “Le Freak,” and “Wild Thing.” The star-studded induction event is slated for Thursday, June 9th at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City. Additional special award honorees will be announced soon.

“The 2016 roster of Songwriters Hall of Fame inductees is a beautiful mosaic of the best of late 20th Century popular music. With creators of Rock & Roll, Soul/R&B, Country and Funk/Dance represented, we are looking forward to an unforgettable and extremely exciting event and evening at the Marriott Marquis on June 9th,” said Co-Chairs Kenneth Gamble & Leon Huff. “With the exception of two, all of the 2016 inductees are alive and continue to be as vitally creative as ever. This year’s Induction and Awards Dinner will mark our first year as Chairmen at the SHOF helm and we could not be more excited about the quality and diversity of the songs and songwriters that will be honored.”

Established in 1969, the Songwriters Hall of Fame (SHOF) serves as a vital bridge between music’s past and future. In the Hall, musical pioneers are enshrined and celebrated, while the organization’s outreach to the music community grooms the next generation of troubadours.