The Who Announce Five-CD Box Set, “Maximum As & Bs” With All The Hits And B-Sides

Following the success of the four 7″ singles box sets from The Who, MAXIMUM As & Bs presents all of the bands A sides, B sides and EPs in one place for the very first time. The 5 CD set features 86 tracks from the Brunswick, Reaction, Track and Polydor labels.

MAXIMUM As & Bs includes classic hits such as “Pictures of Lily,” “I Can See For Miles,” “Magic Bus,” “Pinball Wizard,” “Won’t Get Fooled Again,” “Substitute,” “I Can’t Explain,” “Anyway, Anyhow, Anywhere,” “My Generation,” “Squeeze Box,” “Who Are You,” “You Better You Bet,” “Real Good-Looking Boy” & the band’s last recorded track to date “Be Lucky.” The set includes rarely heard B sides and EP tracks along with the group’s first single, as the High Numbers – “Zoot Suit” b/w “I’m The Face.”

The box set features five CDs, in separate wallets, housed in a rigid, lift-off-lid style box along with a 48-page booklet, with track-by-track annotation by acclaimed Who writers with period photos & memorabilia. The full track listing for MAXIMUM As & Bs follows at the end of this release.

August 18, 2017, sees the re-issue for the first time in a decade and a half of Pete Townshend’s critically acclaimed demo and outtake collections SCOOP, ANOTHER SCOOP & SCOOP 3. These albums give a unique insight into Townshend’s creative process and feature early versions of future Who classics including “Eminence Front,” “The Real Me,” “Long Live Rock,” “The Magic Bus” as well as many other Who hits. These double-CD and vinyl sets have been newly remastered at Abbey Road with the LPs remastered at half speed and pressed on pink (Scoop), yellow (Another Scoop) and light blue (Scoop 3) vinyl.

Also coming exclusively on vinyl on October 27, 2017, are MEATY, BEATY, BIG & BOUNCY and LIVE AT LEEDS, The Who’s first singles collection from 1971 and what the New York Times referred to as “Quite simply, it is the best live rock album ever made” respectively. Both albums have been cut at Abbey Road with half-speed mastering process and will be released on October 27 on heavyweight 180-gram vinyl.

Disc 1:
1 Zoot Suit
2 I’m the Face
3 I Can’t Explain
4 Bald Headed Woman
5 Anyway, Anyhow, Anywhere
6 Daddy Rolling Stone
7 My Generation
8 Shout and Shimmy
9 Circles (AKA ‘Instant Party’)
10 Instant Party Mixture
11 A Legal Matter
12 The Kids Are Aright
13 The Ox
14 La-La-La Lies
15 The Good’s Gone
Disc 2:
1 Substitute
2 Circles
3 Waltz For A Pig
4 I’m A Boy
5 In The City
6 Disguises
7 Batman
8 Bucket T
9 Barbara Ann
10 Happy Jack
11 I’ve Been Away
12 Pictures Of Lily
13 Doctor, Doctor
14 The Last Time
15 Under My Thumb
16 I Can See For Miles
17 Someone’s Coming
18 Dogs
19 Call Me Lightning
20 Magic Bus
21 Dr Jekyll & Mr. Hyde
Disc 3:
1 Pinball Wizard
2 Dogs Part Two
3 The Seeker
4 Here For More
5 Summertime Blues
6 Heaven And Hell
7 See Me Feel Me / Listening To You
8 Overture From Tommy
9 Christmas
10 I’m Free
11 Won’t Get Fooled Again
12 Don’t Know Myself
13 Let’s See Action
14 When I Was A Boy
15 Join Together
16 Baby Don’t You Do It
17 Relay
18 Wasp Man
Disc 4:
1 5:15
2 Water
3 Listening To You / See Me Feel Me (Soundtrack Version)
4 Overture (Soundtrack Version)
5 Squeeze Box
6 Success Story
7 Who Are You
8 Had Enough
9 Long Live Rock
10 My Wife (Live)
11 5:15 (Soundtrack Version)
12 I’m One (Soundtrack Version)
13 You Better You Bet
14 The Quiet One
15 Don’t Let Go The Coat
16 You
Disc 5:
1 Athena
2 A Man Is A Man
3 Eminence Front
4 It’s Your Turn
5 Twist And Shout (Live)
6 I Can’t Explain (Live)
7 Bony Maronie (Live)
8 Join Together (Live)
9 I Can See For Miles (Live)
10 Behind Blue Eyes (Live)
11 Real Good Looking Boy
12 Old Red Wine
13 Wire & Glass EP – Side A (5 x tracks)
14 Wire & Glass EP – Side B – Mirror Door
15 Be Lucky
16 I Can’t Explain (2014 Stereo remix)