Tragically Hip’s Iconic Album Day For Night To Be Re-Released On September 27

Legendary Canadian band, The Tragically Hip announced today the release of a special silver vinyl edition and a Canadian first half master speed vinyl (cut by Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios) of their famed album, Day for Night. The commemorative vinyl will include all 14 original tracks and be available globally on September 27, 2019. Music fans can pre order the half speed master vinyl HERE and the silver edition vinyl HERE.

Originally released on September 24, 1994 Day for Night marked The Tragically Hip’s fourth album as a band and their first #1 album.  Recorded at Kingsway Studio in New Orleans and Le Cave de Dave in Kingston, Ontario the record was produced by Mark Howard, The Tragically Hip along with Mark Vreeken and went on to become certified 7 x platinum in Canada. In 1995 the group performed on the famed Saturday Night Live broadcast to promote the album. Their appearance on the show came after fellow Canadian and Saturday Night Live cast member Dan Aykroyd vocalized his support to have them perform live on the program.

Critically acclaimed for more than three decades, The Tragically Hip has been at the heart of the Canadian musical zeitgeist, evoking a strong emotional connection between their music and their fans that remains unrivalled in this country.  A five-piece group of friends including Rob Baker (guitar), Gord Downie (vocals, guitar), Johnny Fay (drums), Paul Langlois (guitar) and Gord Sinclair (bass), who grew up in Kingston, Ontario, The Hip has achieved the enviable status of a band that enjoys both mass popularity with more than 8 million albums sold worldwide, as well as peer recognition through 16 Juno Awards – and the fourth-most ever for an artist – picking up their last two in for Group of the Year and Rock Album of the Year for Man Machine Poem.  Their studio catalogue includes their self-titled debut album The Tragically Hip (1987), Up To Here (1989), Road Apples (1991), Fully Completely (1992), Day For Night (1994), Trouble At The Henhouse (1996), Phantom Power (1998), Music @ Work (2000), In Violet Light (2002), In Between Evolution (2004), World Container (2006), We Are The Same (2009), Now For Plan A (2012) and Man Machine Poem (2016).  Through their career the band became a cultural touchstone in Canada; receiving the distinguished Order of Canada and even being featured on a set of postage stamps. The band’s final concert in their hometown of Kingston, Ontario took place on August 20th, 2016 and was broadcast nationally on CBC to a record breaking audience of 11.7 million, the second highest audience ever in Canada.

Track listing:

Side One

  1. Grace Too
  2. Daredevil
  3. Greasy Jungle

Side Two

  1. Fire In The Hole
  2. So Hard Done By
  3. Nautical Disaster
  4. Thugs

Side Three

  1. Inevitability of Death
  2. Scared
  3. An Inch An Hour

Side Four

  1. Emergency
  2. Titanic Terrarium
  3. Impossibilium