The 2018 JUNO Gala Dinner & Awards Winners

The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) today honoured and recognized the achievements of the Canadian music industry at the 2018 JUNO Gala Dinner & Awards presented by SOCAN. Hosted by CBC q’s Tom Power at the Vancouver Convention Centre, the exclusive ceremony honoured artists and industry leaders with 36 JUNO Awards and four special achievement awards.

In recognition of Gord Downie’s moving tribute to friends and family, Introduce Yerself, the former Tragically Hip frontman was awarded Songwriter of the Year (presented by SOCAN) with collaborator Kevin Drew, as well as Adult Alternative Album of the Year. A tribute to the legend is scheduled for the JUNO Awards broadcast Sunday.

The evening celebrated the longstanding achievements of world-renowned, Canadian jazz pianist and singer Diana Krall, who took home statuettes for Vocal Jazz Album of the Year and Jack Richardson Producer of the Year. The BC native will take the stage tomorrow evening, giving a performance from her award-winning album, Turn Up The Quiet.

First-time winners took the spotlight, receiving more than half the evening’s awards (20 of the 36 awards). Alvvays (Alternative Album of the Year Sponsored by Long & McQuade), Anciients (Metal/Hard Music Album of the Year), Barbara Hannigan (Classical Album of the Year: Vocal or Choral), Do Make Say Think (Instrumental Album of the Year), Ivan Decker (Comedy Album of the Year Sponsored by SiriusXM Canada), James Barker Band (Country Album of the Year), Jan Lisiecki (Classical Album of the Year: Large Ensemble), Janina Fialkowska (Classical Album of the Year: Solo or Chamber), Jocelyn Morlock (Classical Composition of the Year), Kendrick Lamar (International Album of the Year), Kirk Diamond (Reggae Recording of the Year), Kobo Town (World Music Album of the Year), Nick Fiorucci (Dance Recording of the Year), Marianne Collins with Ian Ilavsky and Steve Farmer (Album Artwork of the Year), Rezz (Electronic Album of the Year), Riley Bell (Recording Engineer of the Year), The Beaches (Breakthrough Group of the Year Sponsored by FACTOR, the Government of Canada, and Canada’s Private Radio Broadcasters), The Color (Contemporary Christian/Gospel Album of the Year), The Dead South (Traditional Roots Album of the Year) and The Glorious Sons (Rock Album of the Year) all took home their first JUNO statuettes.

Additional highlights of the evening include the presentation of four special awards: The Walt Grealis Special Achievement Award, presented by Jann Arden to broadcast trailblazer and fearless music industry veteran Denise Donlon for her significant role in shaping the Canadian music scene and paving a path for success for women in the industry.  The International Achievement Award, given to Arcade Fire in recognition of the band’s tremendous global success. The band joins a prestigious group of recipients including Bryan Adams, Alanis Morissette, Céline Dion, Shania Twain, Sarah McLachlan and Drake. The Humanitarian Award handed out to Gary Slaight for his devotion to Canadian music, emerging Canadian artists, and his ongoing philanthropic support of health care, social service, culture and at-risk youth at home and abroad. Lastly, the MusiCounts Inspired Minds Ambassador Award was presented by the Canadian Scholarship Trust Foundation to Blue Rodeo’s Jim Cuddy for his extraordinary impact on music education.

The night featured captivating performances by 2018 JUNO nominees Clairmont The Second (Rap Recording of the Year), Iskwé (Indigenous Music Album of the Year sponsored by APTN), James Barker Band (Breakthrough Group of the Year Sponsored by FACTOR, the Government of Canada, and Canada’s Private Radio Broadcasters and Country Album of the Year), Terra Lightfoot (Adult Alternative Album of the Year) and one of the 2018 Allan Slaight JUNO Master Class winners, Caveboy.

The JUNO Gala Dinner & Awards presented by SOCAN kicked off the awards weekend. The 47th annual JUNO Awards will air live on Sunday, March 25, at Rogers Arena, broadcast live nationwide at 5 PM PT / 8 PM ET on CBC, CBC Radio and globally on