Eric Alper PR Roster Gets 12 Canadian Folk Music Award Noms: Bruce Cockburn, Crystal Shawanda, Sultans Of String, Craig Cardiff + More

The Canadian Folk Music Awards celebrates its 16th edition, with a roster of nominations that celebrates the breadth and depth of Canadian folk music, and Eric Alper Public Relations and its clients and extended family celebrates the talent of artists and musicians across Canada.

Established by Canada’s vibrant and internationally-recognized folk music community, the awards currently boasts 19 categories. Nominees are chosen for each category through a two-stage jury process. More than 100 jurors, located across Canada, representing all official provinces, territories and languages, determine the official recipients in each category.

The 16th edition of the Canadian Folk Music Awards Celebration will take place online again this year, and will present all 19 Awards, plus the Unsung Hero Award bringing the total to 20 Awards, virtually, over the weekend of April 9-10, 2021.

Contemporary Album of the Year
Coyote by Catherine MacLellan

Contemporary Singer of the Year
Catherine MacLellan for Coyote

Ensemble of the Year
Sultans of String for Refuge

Indigenous Songwriter(s) of the Year
Crystal Shawanda for Church House Blues

Instrumental Solo artist of the Year
Natalie MacMaster for Sketches

Producer(s) of the Year
Chris McKhool & John ‘Beetle’ Bailey for Refuge (Sultans of String)

Single of the Year
Yellowknife by Craig Cardiff (Producer: Craig Cardiff)

Solo Artist of the Year
Catherine MacLellan for Coyote

Traditional Album of the Year
Crowing Ignites by Bruce Cockburn
The Lost Tapes by Ian & Sylvia

Traditional Singer of the Year
Kevin Harvey for Hand Me Down Blues

World Album of the Year
Patria by/par Mazacote