David Bowie’s “Queen Bitch (Demo)” Previously Unreleased Single Available Now

Parlophone Records proudly announces DAVID BOWIE DIVINE SYMMETRY, a four-CD, one blu-ray box set and digital equivalent. The collection celebrates the twelve months running up to the release of the album HUNKY DORY in December 1971 via home demos, BBC radio sessions and live and studio recordings.

The third track to be taken from the collection is a previously unreleased demo version of the Hunky Dory classic, QUEEN BITCH.

QUEEN BITCH was written shortly after David’s early 1971 US visit and this demo was recorded in the Spring of that year. This demo recording is more laid back than the sparkling, effervescent Hunky Dory version.

DAVID BOWIE DIVINE SYMMETRY contains 48 previously unreleased tracks/demos from the period, and new alternative mixes of HUNKY DORY tracks by original co-producer Ken Scott.

Two books accompany DIVINE SYMMETRY, a 100-page hardback book featuring exclusive memorabilia and photos alongside a 60-page replica composite of Bowie’s notebooks from the era featuring handwritten lyrics, costume drawings, recording notes and set lists.

The sleeve notes have been written for the release by Bowie expert Tris Penna, along with contributions from HUNKY DORY co-producer Ken Scott, lifelong Bowie fiends Geoff MacCormack and George Underwood, singer Dana Gillespie, guitarist Mark Pritchett, Friars Aylesbury promoter David Stopps, publisher Bob Grace and photographer Louanne Richards.

1971 was a pivotal yearfor Bowie. He signed a record deal with RCA, he met Andy Warhol, Lou Reed, and Iggy Pop while in New York, became a father and penned the sng ‘KOOKS’ as a show of paternal pride, played live for the first time that June with Mick Ronson, Woody Woodmansey and Trevor Bolder, the band that would later be christened the Spiders From Mars and recorded the classic album HUNKY DORY.


CD 1:

1 Tired Of My Life (demo) *
2 How Lucky You Are (aka Miss Peculiar) (demo) *
3 Shadow Man (demo)
4 Looking For A Friend (demo) *
5 Waiting For The Man (San Francisco hotel recording) *
6 Quicksand (San Francisco hotel recording) *
7 King Of The City (demo) *
8 Song For Bob Dylan (demo) *
9 Right On Mother (demo) *
10 Quicksand (demo)
11 Queen Bitch (demo) *
12 Kooks (demo) *
13 Amsterdam (demo) *
14 Life On Mars? (demo) *
Bonus acetate dubs:
15 Changes (demo) *
16 Bombers (demo) *

CD 2:

David Bowie and Friends
1 Queen Bitch *
2 Bombers
3 The Supermen *
4 Looking For A Friend
5 Almost Grown
6 Kooks
7 Song For Bob Dylan *
8 Andy Warhol *
9 It Ain’t Easy

David Bowie and Friends

10 Queen Bitch *
11 The Supermen *
12 Looking For A Friend *
13 Kooks *
14 Song For Bob Dylan *
15 Andy Warhol *
16 It Ain’t Easy *

Recorded 3rd June, 1971 and broadcast 20th June, 1971
Paris Cinema Studio, Regent Street, London

David Bowie – lead vocals (except as below)
George Underwood – lead vocals on ‘Song For Bob Dylan’ & ‘It Ain’t Easy’ (3rd verse) & backing vocals
Dana Gillespie – lead vocals on ‘Andy Warhol’, backing vocals
Geoff MacCormack (aka Alexander) – lead vocals ‘It Ain’t Easy’ (2nd verse), backing vocals
Mark Pritchett (aka Carr-Pritchard) – guitars, backing vocals
Mick Ronson – guitars, acking vocals
Trevor Bolder – bas
Woody Woodmansey – drums

CD 3:

1 The Supermen
2 Oh! You Pretty Things
3 Eight Line Poem
4 Kooks *
5 Fill Your Heart *
6 Amsterdam *
7 Andy Warhol *

David Bowie – vocals, aoustic guitar, piano
Mick Ronson – guitars, bass, vocals

Session recorded at Kensington House Studio T1 for BBC Radio on
21st September, 1971 and broadcast 4th October, 1971
Live Friars, Aylesbury, 25th September, 1971

8 Introduction*
9 Fill Your Heart*
10 Buzz The Fuzz*
11 Space Oddity*
12 Amsterdam*
13 The Supermen*
14 Oh! You Pretty Things*
15 Eight Line Poem*
16 Changes*
17 Song For Bob Dylan*
18 Andy Warhol*
19 Looking For A Friend*
20 Round And Round*
21 Waiting For The Man*