David Gilmour Announces “Rattle That Lock” Album And North American Tour

David Gilmour has announced that his new solo album Rattle That Lock will be released worldwide on Friday, September 18, 2015 on Columbia Records.  The album will be available for preorder and the first single, also titled “Rattle That Lock” will be released on Friday, July 17, 2016.

Additionally David Gilmour’s first North American dates in ten years were announced today.  The “David Gilmour Live 2016” concert  appearances will take place in March & April with stops in Los Angeles, Toronto, Chicago and New York. Ticket buyers will be among the first to receive the new album, as every ticket purchased online will include a Rattle That Lock CD.

The “Live 2016” appearances will be David Gilmour’s first live concert dates since the “On An Island” tour in 2006, and will follow his UK and European tour this September/October. All tickets for the North American Tour dates go on sale Friday, July 17, 2015 (exact times listed below).

March 24, 2016 – Hollywood Bowl, Los Angeles – on sale 12pm (PST)


March, 31 2016 – Air Canada Center, Toronto – on sale 10am (EST)


April 8, 2016 – United Center, Chicago – on sale 12pm (CST)


April 11, 2016 – Madison Square Garden, New York – on sale 10am (EST)


Tickets can be purchased at Ticketmaster.com, at all Ticketmaster outlets, or by phone.

Rattle That Lock is David Gilmour’s fourth solo album and follows his 2006 #1 in the UK record On An Island.   The primary lyricist for the new album is Gilmour’s long-term writing partner, Polly Samson, and it is co-produced by

David Gilmour and Roxy Music’s Phil Manzanera.  Rattle That Lock’s striking cover has been art directed by Dave Stansbie from The Creative Corporation under the creative directorship of Aubrey Powell from Hipgnosis.

RATTLE THAT LOCK tracklisting:

1) 5 A.M (Gilmour)

2) Rattle That Lock (Gilmour/Samson/Boumendil)

3) Faces Of Stones (Gilmour)

4) A Boat Lies Waiting (Gilmour/Samson)

5) Dancing Right In Front Of Me (Gilmour)

6) In Any Tongue (Gilmour/Samson)

7) Beauty (Gilmour)

8) The Girl In The Yellow Dress (Gilmour/Samson)

9) Today (Gilmour/Samson)

10) And Then…..(Gilmour)

The title track, Rattle That Lock”, will be heard for the first time on BBC Radio 2 in the UK on Friday, July 17 and will be available immediately to download and stream worldwide. The song begins with the four notes, created by Michaël Boumendil, which precede announcements at French SNCF railway stations which Gilmour recorded on his iPhone at Aix-en-Prevence station.  Samson’s lyrics are inspired by Book II of John Milton’s Paradise Lost, which is also featured in her recent acclaimed novel, The Kindness.  The single also features The Liberty Choir and singers Mica Paris and Louise Marshall.