BADBADNOTGOOD, Alvvays, Drake, Buffy Saint-Marie Among 2015 Polaris Prize Short List

The 2015 Polaris Music Prize Short List was announced this morning at The Carlu in Toronto.  The event was live on TFO’s BRBR and Periscope. Over 150 members of the media and music industry were in attendance.

It was also announced that singer/songwriter Fred Penner will be the host of this year’s Gala event, taking place on September 21st at The Carlu. “I am honoured to be the host for this year’s prize.  I have been part of the Canadian music scene for over four decades. As I perform at festivals from coast to coast I am continually impressed with the incredible range of talent we have in this country. I particularly love that Polaris celebrates this musical diversity. The level of prestige involved with this organization is admirable and I am delighted to be associated with it,” said Penner. Fred Penner is a member of the Order of Manitoba and Order of Canada.

2015 Polaris Music Prize Short List:

Alvvays – Alvvays
BADBADNOTGOOD & Ghostface Killah – Sour Soul
Braids – Deep In The Iris
Caribou – Our Love
Jennifer Castle – Pink City
Drake – If You’re Reading This It’s Too Late
Tobias Jesso Jr. – Goon
The New Pornographers – Brill Bruisers
Buffy Sainte-Marie – Power In The Blood
Viet Cong – Viet Cong

Listen to all the Polaris Music Prize nominees of the 2015 Short List playlist below.

The eligibility period for the 2015 Polaris Music Prize runs from June 1, 2014 to May 31, 2015. An independent jury of 196 music journalists, broadcasters and music bloggers from across Canada determines the Long List and Short List. Eleven people are selected from the larger jury pool to serve on the Grand Jury. They will convene the night of the gala to select the Polaris Music Prize winner.

The Polaris Music Prize will award $50,000 to the artist who creates the Canadian Album of the Year. Courtesy of Slaight Music, each of the nine other short listed artists will receive $3,000. Judged solely on artistic merit, without consideration of genre or record sales, the prize’s past winners have included Tanya Tagaq (2014), Godspeed You! Black Emperor (2013), Feist (2012), Arcade Fire (2011), Karkwa (2010), Fucked Up (2009), Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007), and Final Fantasy / Owen Pallett (2006).