The Lumineers Announce New Album; ‘Cleopatra’ To Be Released April 8

The Lumineers announced today the release of their second album Cleopatra via Dualtone, an Entertainment One company, on April 8th. In addition the Lumineers have announced the first leg of their World tour commencing April 14th in the UK. The band also shares their first single “Ophelia” which can be heard here. It took four years for The Lumineers (Wesley Schultz, Jeremiah Fraites and Neyla Pekarek) to follow up their platinum-plus, multi-Grammy-nominated, self-titled debut – which spent 46 weeks on the Billboard 200 and peaked at #2 — but Cleopatra is well worth the wait. After exploding onto the scene with their monster single, “Ho Hey” (which spent a staggering 62 weeks on the Billboard Hot 100, peaking at #3) and its follow-up, “Stubborn Love” (recently featured on President Barack Obama’s Spotify playlist), The Lumineers spent a solid three years touring six of the seven continents. During that time, The Lumineers earned a pair of Grammy nominations (Best New Artist, Best Americana Album), contributed two songs to The Hunger Games franchise (including the hit Jennifer Lawrence/James Newton Howard collaboration, “The Hanging Tree”) and sold an impressive 1.7 million albums in the U.S., and 3 million worldwide.

Cleopatra proves the band are neither taking their good fortune for granted, nor sitting back on their laurels. With the help of producer Simone Felice (The Felice Brothers, The Avett Brothers), the man Wesley calls “our shaman,” the band ensconced themselves in Clubhouse, a recording studio high atop a hill in rural Rhinebeck, N.Y., not far from Woodstock.

“We took the same approach this time as we did with the first album, recording demos in a small house we rented in the original Denver neighborhood where we first moved,” explains Wesley, contributing the lyrical ideas while collaborating on the music with Jer, who tackled a variety of instruments, including guitar, the very prominent piano and trademark tribal drums.

“The record is our greatest hits reflecting what’s happened to us over the last three years,” added Wesley. “We tried to come up with the best possible version of every song, so we recorded a lot of different iterations, changing the tempos, dressing ’em up, stripping ’em down. It took a lot of work to make them sound so easy. We’re very passionate about the process. It was a very intense and beautiful experience. There was a lot of battling, a lot of tears, but some amazing stuff came out, and at the end, we were much better off. It transformed our relationship.”

The Lumineers
Cleopatra World Tour 2016

14 Apr Bristol, UK @ O2 Academy
15 Apr Glasgow, UK @ Barrowlands
18 Apr Dublin, Ireland @ Olympia Theatre
19 Apr Manchester, UK @ Albert Hall
23 Apr London, UK @ O2 Shepherds Bush Empire
27 Apr Paris, France @ Le Trianon
28 Apr Brussels, Belgium @ Ancienne Belgique
29 Apr Amsterdam, Netherlands @ Melkweg
2 May Cologne, Germany @ E-Werk
4 May Hamburg, Germany @ Gross Freiheit 36
6 May Berlin, Germany @ Admiralspalast
8 May Stockholm, Sweden @ Berns
9 May Oslo, Norway @ Rockefeller
10 May Copenhagen, Denmark @ Vega
21 May Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall
22 May Dallas, TX @ The Bomb Factory
25 May Salt Lake City, UT @ Red Butte Garden
27 May San Diego, CA @ CalCoast Credit Union Open Air Theatre
28 May Santa Barbara, CA @ Santa Barbara Bowl
29 May Napa Valley @ Bottle Rock Festival
31 May Portland, OR @ Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall
1 Jun Vancouver, BC @ Orpheum Theatre
3 Jun Redmond, WA @ Marymoor Amphitheater
7 Jun Morrison, CO @ Red Rocks Amphitheatre
10 Jun Kansas City, MO @ KC Live! @ Power & Light District
11 Jun Indianapolis, IN @ Murat Theatre
12 Jun St. Louis, MI @ Peabody Opera House
14 Jun St. Paul, MN @ Myth
15 Jun Milwaukee, WI @ Riverside Theater
19 Jun Chicago, IL @ Chicago Theater
20 July Gardone Riviera, Italy @ Anfiteatro Del Vittoriale
21 July Sesto al Reghena, Italy @ Sexto ‘NPlugged

Track list for Cleopatra:
1. Sleep On The Floor
2. Ophelia
3. Cleopatra
4. Gun Song
5. Angela
6. In The Light
7. Gale Song
8. Long Way From Home
9. Sick In The Head
10. My Eyes
11. Patience