JUNO nominee Lori Cullen set to release “Sexsmith Swinghammer Songs” on October 28

JUNO nominee Lori Cullen set to release Sexsmith Swinghammer Songs on October 28, 2016 via True North Records.

Long time friends and respected musicians Lori Cullen, Kurt Swinghammer and Ron Sexsmith come together and collaborate on a new recording – Sexsmith Swinghammer Songs. Ron, who has been a huge fan of Lori’s for years, suggested to Kurt that they co-write an album of material specifically for Lori to sing. The inspired results are sure to draw attention, as always, to her remarkable voice.

Identified by jazz giant Kurt Elling as one of his favourite new vocalists, Lori Cullen’s upcoming album on True North Records is a fresh expression of jazz-infused chamber-pop. With her pure, unaffected style she delivers twelve tunes that evoke the rich creativity of 60’s/70’s composers Bacharach, Webb and Jobim. Supporting the combination of Sexsmith’s renowned lyrical approach and Swinghammer’s unique musical sensibilities, the tracks feature contributions from a dozen of Toronto’s finest musicians.

The album was recorded at Toronto’s Canterbury Sound by veteran engineer Jeremy Darby and produced by Maury Lafoy, who also played bass along with the core band of drummer Mark Mariash, keyboardist Robbie Grunwald, and guitarist Swinghammer. Centered around nylon string and Rhodes, the skillfully constructed arrangements sparkle with trumpet, trombone, oboe, clarinet, recorder, and harmonica. Backing vocalists Mia Sheard and Jennifer Foster add a signature sound throughout the songs with intricately layered counterpoint parts. With his celebrated experience and sonic sensitivity, David Travers-Smith created the exquisite mix.

The first Lori Cullen CD came out at the start of a new century. Garden Path reflected a young sensibility informed by her heroes Joni Mitchell and Jane Siberry. Two years later she shifted gears to jazz standards for the well received So Much. Her third release Uneven Hill focused on original writing and dramatically broadened the scope of her sonic world. Calling For Rain in 2006 brought together all the previous elements to create a hybrid of jazz and pop which established her artistic identity. It was nominated for a Best Vocal Jazz Juno and one of her original tunes won the Colleen Peterson Songwriting Award from the Ontario Council Of Folk Festivals. The CDs Buttercup Bugle and That Certain Chartreuse continued to define her reputation as a brilliant interpreter of covers, as well as a distinctive original writer, and expanded her reputation overseas with releases in Japan.
Lori’s seventh album is a confident, mature artistic statement inspired by the personal milestone of motherhood.

A Toronto album launch concert for Sexsmith Swinghammer Songs has been announced at Hugh’s Room on October 29.

1. The Face Of Emily
2. Miracle Home
3. Strange Is This Life
4. New Love
5. Something Right
6. This Morning
7. Beginner’s Luck
8. Off Somewhere (duet with Ron Sexsmith)
9. Then There Were Three
10. Some Part Of Me
11. Don’t Go Yet
12. True

Aug 20 – Waterdown, ON – Waterdown Arts Festival
Sept 9 – Toronto, ON – Hugh’s Room
Sept 17 – Toronto, ON – Kensington Market Jazz Festival
Oct 29 – Toronto, ON – Hugh’s Room (Album Launch)