Spirit of the Forest charity single from 1989 featuring Brian Wilson, Ringo Starr, The Ramones, Iggy Pop, Kate Bush, Debbie Harry, Bonnie Raitt and more

The Spirit of the Forest single, written by Gentlemen Without Weapons, was released on 7″ and 12″ single on 5 June 1989. The record was launched on 1 June 1989 by Richard Branson and Earth Love Fund (ELF) Rainforest Appeal in conjunction with the U.N.E.P. at the United Nations. The single was double “A”-sided with star artists performing on both sides. All proceeds from the record, song-writing, publishing and video were donated to the programmes dedicated to saving the Rainforests of the world.

Three recording sessions, taking place in Los Angeles, London and New York were organised to get as much artists involved as possible. The full listing of participating artists is as follows:

Los Angeles: Thomas Dolby, Joni Mitchell, Richard Page (Mr. Mister), Marc Jordan, Mick Fleetwood, Billy Burnett, Belinda Carlisle, Rita Coolidge, Michael Des Barres, Bonnie Raitt, Brian Wilson, Olivia Newton-John, Don, Sweet Pea, & Sir Harry Bowens (Was Not Was), Ivan Lins, Amy Sky, Peter Bogdonovich (PSA Only), Charles Fleisher (PSA Only) plus representatives of ten Indian tribes.
London: David Gilmour (Pink Floyd), Kate Bush, Ringo Starr, Jon Anderson (Yes), XTC, Fish (Marillion), Louise Goffin, Chris Rea, Kim Wilde, Mark Brezezicki, Nathan Moore (Brother Beyond), Sam Brown, Trevor Steele (Escape Club), Andy Fairweather Lowe, Bruce Foxton, Frank Dunnery (It Bites), Shikisha, Johnny Warman
New York: Donna Summer, Iggy Pop, Lacy J. Dalton, Richie Havens, L.L. Cool J, The Ramones, Taylor Dayne, Deborah Harry, Kate Person (B-52’s), Lisa Bonet and Lenny Kravitz, David Clayton-Thomas, Little Steven, Africa Bambaataa, Jungle Brothers, Betsey Johnson (PSA Only), Andie McDowell (PSA), Joe Franklin (PSA), Rich Stevens (PSA), Richie Stats (Plasmatics), Holly Vincent (Holly and the Italians), Dolette McDonald, Raging Hormones.