Nominations for the 20th Anniversary INDIES are Now Open!

Canadian Music Week announces the 20th Anniversary Canadian Independent Music Awards –  Live Streamed on Friday, May 21st, 2021.

Part concert and part awards, the 2021 Jim Beam Indie Awards are a celebration of new music and the artists who inspire the independent spirit, both nationally and internationally. Submit your nomination(s) today for a chance to be recognized among industry peers, media and fans alike. Submissions are being accepted through until February 5, 2021. Artists or their representatives (including labels, agents, managers, and publishers) can submit nominations on their behalf. The eligibility period for all awards categories runs from January 1, 2019 through January 1, 2021. Nominees must have been active during the eligibility period and are based on the performance of the group or artist. For complete submission details, eligibility criteria and award categories, see “Criteria” on the Indies website.

Past winners include The Weeknd, Arcade Fire, Carly Rae Jepsen, Deadmau5, Alexisonfire, Lights, Marianas Trench, Mother Mother, Arkells, Jessie Reyez, KAYTRANADA, Death From Above, The Strumbellas, Crystal Castles, and many more! Past nominees include Daniel Caesar, City and Colour, MAGIC!, Alvvays, Purity Ring, Coeur de Pirate, BADBADNOTGOOD, Chromeo, Bob Moses, Mac DeMarco, and more.

Past performers include Janelle Monae, Tokyo Police Club, Billy Talent, Metric, The New Pornographers, Passion Pit, Rural Alberta Advantage, Bombay Bicycle Club, Born Ruffians, Arkells, and many others!