International Songwriting Competition Will Also Give Out Awards By Country

The International Songwriting Competition (ISC) is proud to announce the launch of a new Spotlight Award that will be given annually to a song and its songwriter(s) from a different country. The goal is to shine the spotlight on songwriting talent each year and honor their musical achievements.

For general information and entry forms, go to:

The inaugural award, presented by ISC and SOCAN, will be presented to a Canadian song and its songwriter(s) who embody excellence in the craft of songwriting. All Canadians who are members of SOCAN are eligible for this award. This award is in addition to all other winners honored in the overall ISC competition.

The winner will be selected by ISC and will be awarded a prize package consisting of studio recording time at the renowned Dark Horse Recording Studio in Franklin, TN, USA, one-week lodging at SOCAN Nashville House, and a travel grant from the SOCAN Foundation.

Now in its 20th year, ISC was created to recognize great songwriters and to provide a valuable platform to be heard by the music industry and the public alike. The competition is open to both professional and amateur songwriters. Renowned for its prestigious judges, the 2021 panel includes iconic artists Coldplay, Hozier, George Thorogood, Bebe Rexha, Tom Waits, Christian Scott, Linkin Park, Jeremiah Fraites (The Lumineers), Trevor Daniels, Metro Boomin, Kristian Bush (Sugarland), Niko Moon, Arturo Sandoval, Laura Pausini, NEEDTOBREATHE, and many more. Also included are record label executives from many of the top major and indie record labels.

A total of 71 winners in 23 genre categories share in over $225,000 in cash and prizes, including an overall Grand Prize consisting of $25,000 (US) cash, and more. Over the years, many ISC winners have gone on to achieve greater success. Previous winners have included: Tones and I; Illenium; Jane Siberry; Vance Joy; Jack de Keyzer; Faouzia; R.LUM.R, Bastille; Gotye; Lindsey Stirling; Kimbra; Sam Roberts; The Band Perry; Kehlani; Passenger; Gin Wigmore; Tenille Townes; For King & Country; Andrew Bird; Gregory Porter; The Trews; Omar Sosa; The Teskey Brothers; Jordan St. Cyr; Adrianne Lenker; and many more.