Nominations Revealed for the 2023 SSIMAs: Aysanabee Leads With 6, Snotty Nose Rez Kids Get 5

The Summer Solstice Indigenous Festival today announced nominees for The SSIMAs, (Summer Solstice Indigenous Music Awards) presented by TD Bank Group. Winners will be celebrated and honoured in Ottawa during the awards ceremony at the National Arts Centre on Tuesday, June 6th, 2023.  Tickets will be available for purchase at the NAC box office, or by clicking here.

The SSIMAs span 16 categories, celebrating solo artists, duos and groups from across Canada and showcasing the diverse and growing music and culture of artistic expression and accomplishment within the Indigenous community. Nominees were selected from 250 Canada-wide submissions by an invited panel of jurors comprising Indigenous and music industry professionals. No public voting was involved in the selection process.

“Presenting and promoting Indigenous music is a cornerstone of our Festival,” says Trina Mather Simard, CEO and Producer of Ottawa’s Summer Solstice Festival which runs June 21 – 25. “We’re celebrating Indigenous voices” adds Advisory Committee Chair Elaine Bomberry. “These Awards, in Canada’s capital city, provide an excellent platform for artists to be recognized for their hard work”. She adds.

Hosted by Anishinaabe activist, broadcaster and content creator Sarain Fox, The SSIMAs presentation ceremony will feature six live performances.

Tickets will be on sale THIS Friday May 19th at 10AM, with a limited number of VIP tickets include a reception attended by artists, presenters and sponsors with an Indigenous-inspired menu by NAC Chef Chris Commandant.

Tickets for The SSIMAs start at $20.00 (including tax plus fees) and will be available at, by phone and in-person at the NAC box office, starting Friday at 10 am.

This SSIMAs presentation kicks off Indigenous History Month and is a prelude to the Annual Summer Solstice Indigenous Festival (SSIF), June 21st-25th at Madahoki Farm in Ottawa. The free festival coincides with National Indigenous Peoples Day (NIPD) on June 21. Authentic, interactive programming showcases the culture, history, food, music, art, fashion, dance and entrepreneurship of Canada’s diverse Indigenous community fostering cultural understanding and creating opportunities for connection.

See the full list of nominees below:

Radio Song Single of the Year
Nomads, Aysanabee
Thick As Thieves, Blue Moon Marquee
Wannabe, Indian City
Deadman, Logan Staats
I’M GOOD, Snotty Nose Rez Kids

Country Album of the Year
That’s The Way It Goes, Jim Jacobs
Classic Country Couple, Jerry Sereda
A Place To Call Home, Trent Agecoutay
It’s Time, Jarrid Lee, Chief & Council

Pop/Alternative/Rock Album of the Year
Watin, Aysanabee
Zhawenim, Digging Roots

Code Red, Indian City
Kizmet, Melody McArthur
Star Nation, Nadjiwan

Live Musical Performance of the Year
Nomads, Aysanabee
Long Black Train, Blue Moon Marquee
War Club, DJ Shub
Codeine, Logan Staats
Grave Digger, Bully Mode, No Jesus
Piece, Sink or Swim Medley, Snotty Nose Rez Kids

Social Voice
Digging Roots
Genevieve Salamone
Logan Staats
Adrian Sutherland

Roots Album of the Year
Scream, Holler & Howl, Blue Moon Marquee
Zhawenim, Digging Roots
Inuugama, Joey Nowyuk
The Spaces In Between, Amanda Rheaume
When The Magic Hits, Adrian Sutherland

Rap/Hip Hop/Electronica Album of the Year
Passage, Cody Coyote
Going Through the Motions, Patrick
Moon Bird
Unidentified, MR. SAUGA
Who Am I To Judge, Plex
I’M GOOD, HBU?, Snotty Nose Rez Kids

Metis Artist/Group of the Year
G.R. Gritt
Kaeley Jade
Andrea Menard
Amanda Rheaume
Brandi Vezina

International Indigenous Artist/Group Recording of the Year
G Precious
Secret Tween

Music in the Arts
Lacey Hill, Love Wins
Kaeley Jade, A Broken Heart
(Remembers the Breaking)
Jessica McMann, Muskwa’s Mountain Home

Recording Artist(s) of the Year
Digging Roots
Lacey Hill
Laura Niquay
Snotty Nose Rez Kids

Rising Star
Laura Niquay
Joel Wood

Inuit Artist/Group of the Year
Angela Amarualik
Beatrice Deer
Brenda Montana
Joey Nowyuk
Shauna Seeteenak

Pow Wow/Hand Drum/ Fiddle/Instrumental Album of the Year
kâkîsimo ᑳᑮᓯᒧᐤ, Cikwes
Incandescent Tales, Jessica McMann
Ôskimacîtahowin: A New Beginning,
Northern Cree
Mikwanak Kamôsakinat, Joel Wood

Artistic Video
We Were Here (Jon B. Elliott) Aysanabee
Red Flags (Doug Bedard) Plex
The Unforgotten (Genevieve Salamone) Genevieve Salamone
DAMN RIGHT (Sterling Larose/ Ellie Cameron) Snotty Nose Rez Kids
Walk With Me (RoseAnna Schick) Adrian Sutherland