Norah Jones To Release Record Store Day Exclusive LP Of Songs From Her Podcast ‘Norah Jones Is Playing Along’

 On Nov. 24, Norah Jones will release a Black Friday Record Store Day exclusive LP featuring songs from her podcast Norah Jones Is Playing Along. Available exclusively at indie record stores on color vinyl, the collection presents a selection of her collaborations with a diverse range of artists including Jeff TweedyTarriona “Tank” BallMavis StaplesMarc RebilletChris ThileValerie JuneLogicBrian BladeRodrigo AmaranteSasha DobsonLukas Nelson, and Bedouine.

Each episode of Norah Jones Is Playing Along features the 9-time GRAMMY Award winning singer, songwriter, and pianist sitting down with one of her favourite musicians for candid conversation and impromptu musical collaborations. Recent episodes have featured Questlove, Christian McBride, and Margaret Glaspy with upcoming guests to include The National (Oct. 10), Dave Grohl (Oct. 24), and Rufus Wainwright (Nov. 7). Watch video of Jones performing live in the studio with each guest HERE.

“I love playing music with people and this seemed like a fun way for me to do it, especially with musicians who I don’t normally cross paths with,” Norah says. “I’m open to all kinds of music and pushing myself out of my comfort zone as well as reconnecting with past collaborators in a new way. I remember listening to Marian McPartland’s Piano Jazz program from NPR on old bootleg tapes in high school and it was my honor to be one of her guests when I first started making records. This show has a similar spirit, with all the casualness of just getting together to play songs and chat with no parameters or formal expectations. The podcast format is perfect for this kind of connection between musicians and the audience. Collaboration is one of the best ways to stay inspired, it widens the mind to infinite possibilities.”

Norah Jones first emerged on the world stage with the 2002 release of Come Away With Me, her self-described “moody little record” that introduced a singular new voice and grew into a global phenomenon, sweeping the 2003 GRAMMY Awards including Album of the Year, Record of the Year, Song of the Year, and Best New Artist. Since then, Jones has become a nine-time GRAMMY-winner, sold more than 52 million albums, and her songs have been streamed ten billion times worldwide. She has released a series of critically acclaimed and commercially successful solo albums—Feels Like Home (2004), Not Too Late (2007), The Fall (2009), Little Broken Hearts (2012), Day Breaks (2016), Pick Me Up Off The Floor (2020), the live album ‘Til We Meet Again (2021), and her holiday album I Dream Of Christmas (2021)—as well as albums with her collective bands The Little Willies, El Madmo, and Puss N Boots featuring Sasha Dobson and Catherine Popper. The 2010 compilation …Featuring Norah Jones showcased her incredible versatility by collecting her collaborations with artists as diverse as Willie Nelson, Foo Fighters, Outkast, and Herbie Hancock. In 2022, Jones launched her podcast Norah Jones Is Playing Along which features candid conversations and impromptu musical collaborations with some her favourite musicians.

The track listing for Playing Along is as follows:

Side A

  1. Muzzle Of Bees (with Jeff Tweedy)
  2. Rollercoasters (with Tarriona ‘Tank’ Ball)
  3. Friendship (with Mavis Staples)
  4. Everybody Say Goodbye (with Marc Rebillet)
  5. Won’t You Come and Sing For Me (with Chris Thile)
  6. Home Inside (with Valerie June)

Side B

  1. Fade Away (with Logic)
  2. Nature’s Law (with Brian Blade)
  3. Falling (with Rodrigo Amarante)
  4. Four Leaf Clover (with Sasha Dobson)
  5. Set Me Down On A Cloud (with Lukas Nelson)
  6. When You’re Gone (with Bedouine)