Award-Winning Guitarist/Singer/Songwriter Sue Foley Set to Release ‘Live in Austin Vol 1’ on October 27

Texas based, Canadian bred guitarist, singer and songwriter Sue Foley releases Sue Foley Live in Austin Vol 1 CD on October 27 via her Guitar Woman Records, with vinyl LP release to follow on December 8. Recorded on May 19, 2023, at Austin’s legendary Continental Club, this electrifying album captures Sue Foley and her unique Texas blues sound. The album features 11 tracks of grit, sweat and devastating guitar playing that has propelled Sue Foley to the top of the Blues world. It’s a retrospective collection of songs from her recording career, with a few surprise covers thrown in.

First arriving in Austin in 1991 at the urging of nightclub impresario Clifford Antone, it’s in that era of Austin where she cut her teeth amongst infamous Texas guitar slingers like Albert Collins and The Vaughan Brothers. It’s all come down to this one hot Friday night in Austin, playing to a packed club. It’s real. And it’s tough as nails. That’s Sue at the top of her game. You can pre-order it here.

This past May, Foley was awarded the Blues Music Award for Traditional Blues Female Artist (Koko Taylor Award) in Memphis TN — an award she also won in 2022 and 2020. She was also recently honored with Guitarist of the Year and Blues Act of the Year at the at the 2023 Austin Music Awards, and Guitarist of the Year at the 2023 Maple Blues Awards. Her last album Pinky’s Blues took home Best Traditional Blues Album at the 2022 Blues Music Awards.

Sue Foley Live in Austin Vol 1 Track Listing and Credits

1: Introduction by Steve Wertheimer (00:29)
2: New Used Car (3:47)
(Sue Foley, Mechanicsville Music SOCAN/ASCAP)
3: Walkin’ Home (3:22)
(Sue Foley, Robert Grant, Mechanicsville Music SOCAN/ASCAP)
4: Highwayside (4:03)
(Sue Foley, Mechanicsville Music SOCAN/ASCAP)
5: Howlin For My Darlin (4:59)
(Willie Dixon, Chester Burnett, Hoochie Coochie Music, Arc Music BMI)
6: Queen Bee (4:19)
(James Moore, Embassy Music Corp, BMI)
7: Hooked On Love (aka Lucky Lou) (4:07)
(Jodi Williams, ARC Music, BMI)
8: Positively 4th Street (5:25)
(Bob Dylan, Sony Music Entertainment)
9: Me and My Chauffeur Blues (4:27)
(Ernest Lawler, Songs of Universal Inc., Wabash Music Company, BMI)
10: Better (4:52)
(Sue Foley, Mechanicsville Music, SOCAN/ASCAP)
11: High Roller (5:01)
(Richard Alan Nielsen, Tom Petersson, Robin W Zander, Adult Music, Screen Gems-EMI Music Inc., BMI, SESAC)