King Launches ‘New Life’ Album And “We Are The Ones” Feat. Gucci Mane

India’s trailblazing star King has delivered what is sure to be one of 2023’s top albums in New Life – a riotous collection of twelve genre-bending songs from the artist, released with Warner Music India.

Officially arriving as King’s fourth studio album, the sonically diverse body of work blends a mix of Hindi and bilingual tracks with electronic, hip hop, and industrial influences; lyrically, New Life hears King touch on themes of introspection, fear, healing, happiness, ambition and triumph, while expanding his portfolio of international collaborations by teaming up for tracks with Gucci Mane and Julia Michaels.

New Life is fronted by the Gucci Mane assisted single “We Are the Ones” – a statement piece defined by menacing electronic sounds and racing drum rhythms helmed by David Arkwright (Bella Poarch, NCT Dream), “We Are the Ones” offers audiences a feast of boisterous bars about ambition, confidence and self-motivation delivered by King and Gucci Mane. These two heavyweights from their respective hip-hop genres join forces for the genre-fluid creation, transcending borders to showcase the vibrant diversity of the global music scene. As a definitive moment signalling the

growing international hype for King, Gucci Mane’s presence on the maximalist sonics of “We Are the Ones” marks the first time the rap legend has linked up with an Indian artist – the latest in a string of unpredictable moves from the trap music pioneer, who has inspired and mentored an entire generation of artists and producers including Migos, Young Thug, Nicki Minaj, Zaytoven, Mike WiLL Made-It, and Metro Boomin.

King made the following statement about “We Are the Ones”: On ‘We Are the Ones’, I’ve had the incredible opportunity to collaborate with the legendary Gucci Mane, marking not only a significant moment for the global journey of the current Indian music scene but also a phenomenal moment for me personally. It’s a fusion of two different worlds – hip-hop meeting a new wave – and together, we’re creating a massive rage anthem that knows no borders. Gucci Mane’s legacy in trap music is undeniable and now, we’re here to redefine the game with this track.”

Gucci Mane made the following statement about “We Are the Ones”: “I’ve always been pushing boundaries and breaking new ground in hip-hop. Teaming up with KING for this track is huge because it marks my first big original global collaboration. I really liked the idea of us bridging cultures and taking our careers to a bigger worldwide level.”

Meanwhile, “We Are the Ones” is King’s second major international collaboration following on from his crossover hit, “Maan Meri Jaan (Afterlife)” with Nick Jonas earlier in 2023. Released as the international remake of King’s record-breaking, global viral hit “Maan Meri Jaan”, the “Afterlife” version with Nick Jonas has since racked up 50M views on YouTube alone and 35M Spotify streams, while earning international press attention from the likes of Rolling Stone, MTV, E!, Evening Standard, Entertainment Tonight, Wonderland and 1883 Magazine.

Elsewhere across the dynamic album, New Life reminds listeners of King’s fiery talents as one of the leading rap talents succeeding in the global music sphere. The stormy “Legends” candidly recounts King’s journey to the top as a stamp of authority on his success, paying homage to the Indian hip-hop greats who came before him in a move which proves King as the torchbearer of Indian hip-hop – something King furthers on the biting “No Loss”, where he intimately addresses his rise to fame while reflecting on his self-assuredness and resilience in the face of adversity.

On the other side of the spectrum, softer moments in New Life come via the sunset sounds of “Runaway”, a vulnerable crossover gem which deals with escapism and also features a verse from the renowned hitmaker Julia Michaels. The melancholic “Tu Jaana Na Piya” is sure to continue King’s string of romantic hits with its driving beat and hook-laden lyrics exploring a lovestruck state of mind; meanwhile, King taps into ‘90s nostalgia with a contemporary twist for the bouncy “High Hukku”.

King’s unprecedented yet ongoing success is a welcomed first. In a landscape where Indian charts are typically dominated by music from Bollywood artists with decades of experience, King’s previous album, Champagne Talk, grossed over 1 billion streams across all platforms, with the iconic track “Maan Meri Jaan” alone garnering over 891 million streams.

Helping to fly the flag across the world for Indian pop culture, the melody-driven storyteller’s work has been captivating audiences with his audio-visual experiences and narrative concepts in his lyrics, exploring topics like self-doubt, confidence and the ups and downs of relationships – and with his international headline tour soon to hit the UK, US, Canada and Australia, King undeniably proves his star is on the rise internationally.

Fortifying his position as a unique storyteller and melody-king, New Life is set to keep King’s name in the mix as part of his natural progression into a globally recognized pop force – stay tuned for even more surprises in store from King later this year.

KING – NEW LIFE Tracklist:
1. “Aafat” (Trouble Maker)
2. “Runaway (feat. Julia Michaels)”
3. “Tu Jaana Na Piya” (Don’t Go My Love)
4. “Good Trip”
5. “Sarkaare” (My Love)
6. “Tum Saath Rehnaa” (Stay With Me)
7. “Legends”
8. “We Are the Ones (feat. Gucci Mane)” (Focus single)
9. “High Hukku (feat. Nikhita Gandhi)”
10. “No Loss”
11. “CROWN”
12. “Legends (B Side)”