Winners announced for The 53rd Annual JUNO Awards

The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) and CBC celebrated Canada’s Biggest Night in Music this evening at The 53rd Annual JUNO Awards Broadcast. Hosted by legendary singer, songwriter and pop superstar Nelly Furtado, the awards were broadcast from Scotiabank Centre in Halifax on CBC TV, CBC Gem, CBC Radio One, CBC Music, CBC Listen, and globally at and CBC Music’s YouTube page.

JUNOS’ most decorated artist and Nova Scotian Anne Murray took to the stage to present the Group of the Year Presented by SiriusXM Canada to The Beaches. Following their win, The Beaches also took to the stage with a dynamic performance to cap off a stellar weekend for the band, winning Rock Album of the Year the previous night as well.

Two other performers went home with JUNO Awards this evening, TALK with Breakthrough Artist of the Year Presented by FACTOR, The Government of Canada and Canada’s Private Radio Broadcasters and Charlotte Cardin won Album of the Year Presented by Music Canada for her hit album “99 nights.” Charlotte also went home with Pop Album of the Year the previous night.

Canadians were given the option to vote for the TikTok JUNO Fan Choice, which was awarded to Karan Aujla.

The evening’s broadcast included the induction of Maestro Fresh Wes to the Canadian Music Hall of Fame, his Induction was Presented by JUNOS Premier Sponsor, TD. The honour was presented to him by Kardinal Offishall who also introduced Maestro Fresh Wes ahead of his incredible performance.

The MusiCounts Teacher of the Year Award, presented by Anthem Entertainment, was awarded to, Stephen Richardson (École St. Joseph School, Yellowknife, NT) not only for his impact on students in kindergarten through to grade 12 but also his dedication to the Yellowknife community and the music education field. He is the first educator from the Northwest Territories to win this award and has been nominated for this award three times before.

The 2024 JUNO Awards Broadcast featured additional performances from some of Canada’s brightest stars. Host Nelly Furtado took to the stage to wow the crowd with her performance followed by Karan Aujla (2024 Breakthrough Artist of the Year Presented by FACTOR, The Government of Canada and Canada’s Private Radio Broadcasters nominee) and Ikky who impressed the audience with their performance. A powerful performance from Jeremy Dutcher & 2024 JUNO Award winner Elisapie ft. the fiery Mi’kmaq fiddler Morgan Toney and artistic creator Sarah Prosper. A double award winner from the JUNO Opening Night Awards Presented by Music Canada, Songwriter of the Year Presented by SOCAN and Alternative Album of the Year, Aysanabee joined Alexandra Stréliski and Allison Russell, winner of the 2024 JUNO Award for Music Video of the Year. Country artist Josh Ross took to the stage to put on an exhilarating performance.

The evening’s star-studded roster of presenters included CBC’s This Hour Has 22 Minutes and Best in Miniature host, Aba Amuquandoh, Two-Spirit nurse practitioner and talented drag artist Anita LandBack, Canadian music legend Jim Cuddy, co-founder and executive director of the Wabanaki Two-Spirit Alliance John R Sylliboy, actor/comedian Jonny Harris from CBC’s Murdoch Mysteries and Still Standing, 2024 Single of the Year an Breakthrough Artist of the Year Presented by FACTOR, the Government of Canada and Canada’s private Radio broadcasters nominee and pop singer/songwriter LU KALA, R&B/dancehall fusion and 2024 Reggae Recording of the Year nominee Omega Mighty, Minister of Canadian Heritage The Honourable Pascale St-Onge and JUNO Award winner and 2024 nominee William Prince. Crash Adams were the 2024 TikTok JUNO Fan Choice Award presenters and CBC Music’s Odario Williams brought this Afterdark groove to the JUNO party as the Broadcast announcer.