Fleetwood Mac’s New Compilation Spotlights 19 Essential Tracks From The Band’s First Seven Reprise Albums

In the late 1960s, Mick Fleetwood, Peter Green, John McVie, and Jeremy Spencer laid the foundation for what would become one of the most storied and successful bands in rock history, Fleetwood Mac. Now, Rhino is celebrating the band’s transformative early days with a compilation that features 19 essential tracks.

BEST OF FLEETWOOD MAC (1969-1974) will be available on July 26 from Rhino on CD, 2-LP 180-gram black vinyl, & 2-LP brick & mortar exclusive on sea-blue vinyl. Pre-Order HERE.

The new collection spans a prolific five-year period that began in 1969 after the band signed with Reprise Records. It includes songs selected from seven studio albums: Then Play On (1969), Kiln House (1970), Future Games (1971), Bare Trees (1972), Penguin (1973), Mystery To Me (1973), and Heroes Are Hard To Find (1974).

Those albums fueled Fleetwood Mac’s early popularity in the U.K. and catapulted them into the Top Ten with singles like “Oh Well – Pt. 1” and “The Green Manalishi (With The Two Prong Crown).” Both tracks are included in the collection along with fan favorites like “Rattlesnake Shake,” “Station Man,” “Sentimental Lady,” “Spare Me A Little Of Your Love,” and “Remember Me.”

Between 1969 and 1974, Fleetwood Mac experienced near-constant changes in membership. The new compilation provides a showcase for each lineup, with songs featuring nearly every member from this era, including founders Fleetwood, Green, McVie, and Spencer, plus Christine McVie, Danny Kirwan, Bob Welch, and Bob Weston.

James McNair’s new liner notes accompany the compilation and expertly navigate the band’s twisting timeline during this period. He writes: “By the time of Fleetwood Mac’s winter 1971 U.S. tour, Christine McVie was a fully-fledged member. Her keyboard-playing and co-lead vocals alongside those of Kirwan and Spencer were integral in the wake of Green’s departure…Alas, any calm seas were short-lived; Fleetwood Mac was still a volatile ship. Spencer, too, was about to go missing in action.”

2-LP Track Listing

LP One: Side One
1. “Oh Well – Pt. 1”
2. “Rattlesnake Shake”
3. “The Green Manalishi (With The Two Prong Crown)”
4. “Station Man”
5. “Jewel Eyed Judy”

Side Two
1. “Tell Me All The Things You Do”
2. “Future Games”
3. “Sands Of Time” – Single Version
4. “Sunny Side Of Heaven”

LP Two: Side One
1. “Bare Trees”
2. “Sentimental Lady”
3. “Spare Me A Little Of Your Love”
4. “Remember Me”
5. “Did You Ever Love Me”

Side Two
1. “Emerald Eyes”
2. “Hypnotized”
3. “Heroes Are Hard To Find”
4. “Angel”
5. “Prove Your Love”

CD Track Listing

1. “Oh Well – Pt. 1”
2. “Rattlesnake Shake”
3. “The Green Manalishi (With The Two Prong Crown)”
4. “Station Man”
5. “Jewel Eyed Judy”
6. “Tell Me All The Things You Do”
7. “Future Games”
8. “Sands Of Time” – Single Version
9. “Sunny Side Of Heaven”
10. “Bare Trees”
11. “Sentimental Lady”
12. “Spare Me A Little Of Your Love”
13. “Remember Me”
14. “Did You Ever Love Me”
15. “Emerald Eyes”
16. “Hypnotized”
17. “Heroes Are Hard To Find”
18. “Angel”
19. “Prove Your Love”