Jason McCoy Returns As Host Of The Country Music Association of Ontario Awards

The Country Music Association of Ontario (CMAO) is thrilled to announce Jason McCoy of The Road Hammers will return as host of the 2016 CMAO Awards (presented by Slaight Music) for the third year in a row. McCoy, an ever-engaging and entertaining host, is a popular fan and industry favourite and will bring his own brand of energy, quips and comedic timing to the night.

“It’s an honour to be returning as host of the CMAO’s. This year has been the best yet for Ontario artists, and it’s great to see so much support from the industry and fans alike.” McCoy says.

As a 25-year veteran of the entertainment industry and two-time CCMA Male Vocalist of the Year, McCoy is the king of reinvention. Growing up in the small town of Minesing, Ontario, McCoy admired the well-rounded artistry of the classic entertainers, from Roger Miller and Johnny Cash to Merle Haggard and Glen Campbell. Armed with a guitar and a dream, McCoy set out at the age of 19 to follow his own path to stardom. Together with The Road Hammers he has won five CCMAs. As a solo artist, he’s racked up multiple CCMA and CMA awards, along with a Gold album.

As creator and front man of The Road Hammers, McCoy took on the country rock genre and guided the band to unprecedented success throughout Canada and the United States, picking up a Platinum album, CCMA Group of the Year award, and a JUNO award along the way. The band are heading to Australia or the CMC Rocks Festival this March and were recently announced as performers at the first CMT Festival this July.

The Western Swing Authority also returns to the awards as the event’s house band. The award show will be held Monday, May 30, 2016, at the Flato Markham Theatre. For ticket information visit www.ticketbreak.com.

The CMAO was formed in 2007 by Rob MacArthur, founding patron Linda Wright, and a number of interested and enthusiastic individuals who thought it was time to have a voice for country music in Ontario. The Association brings together the talent and the industry professionals. Its mandate is to foster and support the growth and development of Ontario’s country music and its industry, provincially, nationally and internationally. The CMAO has now hosted three annual Awards Shows with the assistance of presenting sponsor Slaight Music. These sold-out events featured performances from Ontario’s top talent, including: Jason McCoy, Deric Ruttan, Jason Blaine, Tim Hicks, Tebey, Autumn Hill, Small Town Pistols, Michelle Wright, Marshall Dane and many more. The CMAO is also proud to have presented two highly successful two-day Road to Independence educational conferences, with the financial contribution of the OMDC and presenting sponsor CMT.