Jason Isbell, Lucinda Williams and Chris Stapleton Lead The Americana Awards Nominations

Jason Isbell, the Alabama-born singer-songwriter whose 2013 album Southeastern established him as one of the leaders in American roots music, received three Americana award nominations Wednesday night for his work on his latest release, Something More Than Free.

The former Drive-By Trucker garnered nominations for Artist of the Year, Album of the Year, and Song of the Year (“24 Frames”). The nominations were announced in Washington, D.C. at an invitation-only event presented by MusicFIRST, an organization that advocates for fair compensation for musical creators.

Lucinda Williams, whose latest album The Ghosts of Highway 20 stands is another great record for her, received two nominations, as did country star Chris Stapleton for his work on last year’s Traveller.

The winners will be announced during the Americana Honors and Awards show on September 21 at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville.

A full list of categories and nominees is below:

Album of the Year
Something More Than Free, Jason Isbell, Produced by Dave Cobb
The Ghosts of Highway 20, Lucinda Williams, Produced by Greg Leisz, Tom Overby and Lucinda Williams
The Very Last Day, Parker Millsap, Produced by Parker Millsap and Gary Paczosa
Traveller, Chris Stapleton, Produced by Dave Cobb and Chris Stapleton

Artist of the Year
Jason Isbell
Bonnie Raitt
Chris Stapleton
Lucinda Williams

Duo/Group of the Year
Alabama Shakes
Emmylou Harris & Rodney Crowell
Lake Street Dive
The Milk Carton Kids
Tedeschi Trucks Band

Emerging Artist of the Year
Leon Bridges
John Moreland
Margo Price
Nathaniel Rateliff & the Night Sweats

Song of the Year
“24 Frames” Jason Isbell
“Dime Store Cowgirl” Kacey Musgraves
“Hands Of Time” Margo Price
“S.O.B.” Nathaniel Rateliff & The Nightsweats

Instrumentalist of the Year
Cindy Cashdollar
Stuart Duncan
Jedd Hughes
Sara Watkins