Rose Cousins, Jenn Grant, KINLEY, Ria Mae, and Joel Plaskett lead 2018 East Coast Music Award nominations

s they prepare to celebrate their milestone 30th anniversary, the East Coast Music Association is thrilled to announce the 2018 East Coast Music Award nominees.
Rose Cousins leads the pack with eight nominations, while Jenn Grant follows with six. Ria Mae, KINLEY, and Joel Plaskett each garner four.
The East Coast Music Association (ECMA) is a regional collaboration of people in the music industry of Atlantic Canada that fosters, develops and celebrates East Coast music and its artists locally, regionally, nationally and internationally. The ECMA annually produces the ECMAs, one of the top music industry events in Canada, which includes Awards, a Festival, an Industry Conference and the International Export Buyers Program.
The 2018 East Coast Music Award nominees are as follows:
Blues Recording of the Year
Earle & Coffin – Wood Wire Blood & Bone
Matt Minglewood – Fly Like Desperados
Mike Biggar – Go All In
Shirley Jackson & Her Good Rockin’ Daddys – Things Keep Lookin’ Up
Wayne Nicholson and The Eastenders – Diggin’ the Dirt

Bucky Adams Memorial Award


Measha Brueggergosman
Nova Scotia Mass Choir
Reeny Smith
Universal Soul
Classical Composition of the Year
Andrew Staniland – “The River Within Us”
Derek Charke – “In Sonorous Falling Tones”
Fiona Ryan – “Lady of the Lake”
Jeff Reilly – “To Dream of Silence (In Four Movements)”
Martin Kutnowski – “Tonadas y Mateadas”
Classical Recording of the Year
Derek Charke and WIRED! Ensemble – In Sonorous Falling Tones
Duo Concertante – Incarnation
Jeff Reilly – To Dream of Silence
Maureen Batt – Lady of the Lake
Symphony Nova Scotia – Schubert
Ventus Machina – In The Weeds
Country Recording of the Year
The Hypochondriacs – The Hypochondriacs in ¾
Jason Benoit – WAVES
Makayla Lynn – On A Dare and a Prayer
Pretty Archie – Sing Alongs and Love Songs
Whitney Rose – South Texas Suite
Dance Recording of the Year
Bardic Beatz – “Beautiful Minds”
CRaymak – “Play With Fire” ft. Neon Dreams
FWLR & Twistex – “Without Borders”
Joel Freckelton – “Violet Rose” ft. Frank Kadillac
Spoutnique – “My Blue Sky Turns Teal, Vol 1”
Electronic Recording of the Year
Elephant Skeletons – The Traveller
Nicole Ariana – STRAND
Rozalind MacPhail – SUNSET SUNRISE
Veev – Golden EP
Folk Recording of the Year
Amelia Curran – Watershed
Catherine MacLellan – If It’s Alright With You
The East Pointers – What We Leave Behind
Joel & Bill Plaskett – Solidarity
Rose Cousins – Natural Conclusion
Francophone Recording of the Year
Jacques Jacobus – Le retour de Jacobus
Les Jeunes d’Asteure – paradis, probablement
Joey Robin Haché – Stigmates
Mary Beth Carty – Les biens-nommés
Menoncle Jason – Dans son prime
Gospel Recording of the Year
Informants – Uprising
Matt Linton – I’ve Got To Praise Him
Measha Brueggergosman – Songs of Freedom
Nova Scotia Mass Choir – Immanuel
Rekoncyle – Desire
Group Recording of the Year
Cassie and Maggie – The Willow Collection
City Natives – Dream Catchers
The East Pointers – What We Leave Behind
Ouroboros – Kitchuses
Les Païens – Carte noire
Tomato Tomato – I Go Where You Go
Walrus – Family Hangover
Indigenous Artist of the Year
Carolina East
City Natives
Don Ross
Maxim Cormier
Instrumental Recording of the Year
Amy Brandon – Scavenger
Chronos – What It Is
Michael Maillet – Entropy
Paul Tynan and Aaron Lington – Bicoastal Collective: Chapter 5
Rosie MacKenzie – Atlantic
Jazz Recording of the Year
Florian Hoefner – Coldwater Stories
Heather Bambrick – You’ll Never Know
Les Païens – Carte noire
Paul Tynan and Aaron Lington – Bicoastal Collective: Chapter 5
Willem Paynter – Wise Guy
Loud Recording of the Year
Hard Charger – Bad Omens
Sleepshaker – Things Are Different Now
Spirit of the Wildfire – Paradisolation
Tactus – Bending Light
ZAUM – Eidolon
Pop Recording of the Year
Ian Janes – Yes Man
Jenn Grant – Paradise
KINLEY – Letters Never Sent
Neon Dreams – To You
Port Cities – Port Cities
Rap/Hip-Hop Recording of the Year
City Natives – Dream Catchers
Fortunato x DJ IV – 2 Bad Dudes
Ghettosocks – Diamants en cendres
Mitchell Bailey – Last Time Introducing Myself
Quake Matthews – Celebrate the Struggle
Rising Star Recording of the Year
The Barrowdowns – Come What May Come
KINLEY – Letters Never Sent
Mama’s Broke – Count the Wicked
Owen Meany’s Batting Stance – Owen Meany’s Batting Stance
Shreem – Celtic Remixing
Rock Recording of the Year
Alert the Medic – Let Them Have Their Fun
Jessie Brown – Keeping Appearances
Like A Motorcycle – High Hopes
Mo Kenney – The Details
Partner – In Search of Lost Time
Roots/Traditional Recording of the Year
Cassie and Maggie – The Willow Collection
Còig – Rove
MacIsaac and MacKenzie – The Bay Street Sessions
Matthew Byrne – Horizon Lines
Scott Macmillan and Colin Grant – GOOD2GO
Solo Recording of the Year
Amelia Curran – Watershed
David Myles – Real Love
Jenn Grant – Paradise
Mo Kenney – The Details
Rose Cousins – Natural Conclusion
Songwriter of the Year
David Myles
Jenn Grant
Joel Plaskett
Rose Cousins
Tim Chaisson, Jake Charron, Koady Chaisson (The East Pointers)
Song of the Year
Gabrielle Papillon – “Keep the Fire” (Producer: Daniel Ledwell)
Jenn Grant – “Galaxies” (Producer: Daniel Ledwell)
KINLEY – “Microphone” (Producer: Kinley Dowling & Colin Buchanan)
Port Cities – “Back to the Bottom” (Producer: Gordie Sampson)
Rose Cousins – “Grace” (Producer: Joe Henry)
Album of the Year
Amelia Curran – Watershed (Producers: Amelia Curran & Chris Stringer)
Jenn Grant – Paradise (Producer: Daniel Ledwell)
Joel & Bill Plaskett – Solidarity (Producer: Joel Plaskett)
Ria Mae – Ria Mae (Producer: Luke Boyd aka Classified)
Rose Cousins – Natural Conclusion (Producer: Joe Henry)
Fans’ Choice Entertainer of the Year
David Myles
Joel Plaskett
Matt Minglewood
Measha Brueggergosman
Neon Dreams
Port Cities
Ria Mae
Rose Cousins
Fans’ Choice Video of the Year
George Belliveau – “Grand verre de tchekafaire ft. Arthur Comeau” (Director: Mathieu Laprise)
Jenn Grant – “Galaxies” (Director: Adam Goldhammer)
KINLEY – “Microphone” (Director: Jenna MacMillan)
Neon Dreams – “Marching Bands ft. Kardinal Offishall” (Director: Cazhmere)
Ria Mae – “Bend” (Director: Stephen Dunn)
Rose Cousins – “Chains” (Director: Nathan Boone)
The Town Heroes – “Thought Police” (Director: Cody Westman)