Tangerine Dream Announces 10CD Box Set Pilots Of Purple Twilight – The Virgin Recordings 1980 – 1983

Tangerine Dream are one of the true pioneers of electronic and ambient music, and the albums they recorded for Virgin Records between 1980 and 1983 remain classics of the genre.

Off the back of the success of In Search of Hades, the group has announced the release of Pilots of Purple Twilight – The Virgin recordings 1980 – 1983, a 10 x CD box set, released October 30, showcasing the next chapter in this period of Tangerine Dream’s history.

The box set features newly re-mastered versions of the albums Tangram, Thief, Exit, White Eagle, Logos Live, Hyperborea along with the previously unreleased soundtrack for The Keep from the 1983 movie directed by Michael Mann, something of a holy grail for Tangerine Dream fans. All audio has been drawn from the original master tapes and has been enhanced by new stereo mixes by Ben Wiseman.

Pilots of Purple Twilight also features previously unreleased material across 4 discs, including the full concert at The Dominion Theatre, London (November 1982). In addition, it includes 4 tracks from White Eagle and Daydream – Moorland that are released for the first time on CD and digitally. Thief includes “Dr. Destructo” (extended version), previously only used for promotional use only.

The Tangerine Dream tracks featured on the Virgin soundtrack LP for the movie Risky Business are also included in the box set, including the band’s biggest streamer, “Love on a Real Train” and from the Virgin archive, the unreleased songs from the soundtrack to the 1982 movie The Soldier, which was scored, composed and performed by the band.

The Pilots of Purple Twilight box set includes a hard-back book with a new essay and many rare photographs and memorabilia.

1 x CD versions of Tangram, Thief, Exit, White Eagle, Hyperborea and Logos Live are also set for release with the audio taken from the 2020 remasters and feature bonus tracks from the box set. A D2C edition of the box set will also be available which includes a reproduction of a rare poster.

10CD Box Set Features:

  • 10 x CD, newly remastered versions of the classic albums Tangram, Thief, Exit, White Eagle, HyperboreaLogos Live + the previously unreleased soundtrack for The Keep directed by Michael Mann. All audio taken from the original master tapes and enhanced by new stereo mixes by Ben Wiseman
  • Previously unreleased material across 4 CDs including The Dominion Theatre, London (November 1982) concert, the unreleased soundtrack to the 1982 movie The Soldier + tracks from the Risky Business soundtrack including “Love on a Real Train.”
  • Includes 4 tracks from White Eagle and Daydream – Moorland released for the first time on CD and digitally
  • Thief includes “Dr. Destructo” (extended version), previously used for promotional use only
  • Hard-back book with a new essay and rare photographs and memorabilia


6 X 1CD – newly remastered versions of:

  • Tangram
  • Thief
  • Exit
  • White Eagle
  • Hyperborea
  • Logos Live
  • Features bonus tracks from the box set


CD1 – Tangram

 Released as Virgin V 2147 in May 1980

  1. Tangram Set 1
  2. Tangram Set 2

CD2 – Thief

 Released as Virgin V 2198 in March 1981

  1. Beach Theme
  2. Destructo
  3. Diamond Diary
  4. Burning Bar
  5. Beach Scene
  6. Scrap Yard
  7. Trap Feeling
  8. Igneous

CD2 – Bonus track:

Dr. Destructo (extended version) (promo only)

CD3 – Exit

Released as Virgin V 2212 in September 1981

  1. Kiew Mission
  2. Pilots of Purple Twilight
  3. Choronzon
  4. Exit
  5. Network 23
  6. Remote Viewing

CD4 – White Eagle

 Released as Virgin V2226 in March 1982

  1. Mojave Plan
  2. Midnight in Tula
  3. Convention of the 24
  4. White Eagle

CD4 – Bonus tracks:

  1. Das Mädchen auf der Treppe
  2. Flock
  3. Katja
  4. Speed

Taken from the 12-inch EP ‘Das Mädchen auf der Treppe’, released in Germany as Virgin 600 651 in May 1982. Previously unreleased on CD.

  1. Daydream
  2. Moorland

A & B-sides of single – Released in Germany as Virgin 105 271 in May 1983.

CD5 – The Soldier soundtrack

Recorded in 1981 / 1982 at Polygon Studio and Amber Studio in West Berlin.

Final mixing at Amber Studio, West-Berlin in June 1982

  1. Main titles
  2. Cue #1 – variation on Logos #1
  3. Cue #2 – variation on Horizon #1
  4. Cue #3 – The Soldier #1
  5. Cue #4 – variation on Dolphin Dance
  6. Cue #5 – variation on Tangent #1
  7. Cue #6 – The Soldier #2
  8. Cue #7 – The Soldier #3
  9. Cue #8 – The Soldier #4
  10. Cue #9 – The Soldier #5
  11. Cue #10 – variation on Horizon #2
  12. Cue #11 – The Soldier #6
  13. Cue #12 – The Soldier #7
  14. Cue #13 – variation on Logos #2
  15. Cue #14 – The Soldier #8
  16. Cue #15 – variation on Horizon #3
  17. End Titles

CD6 – The Dominion Theatre Concert

 6th November 1982 (Previously unreleased)

  1. The Dominion Concert Part One

CD7 – The Dominion Theatre Concert

6th November 1982 (Previously unreleased)

  1. The Dominion Concert Part Two
  2. Midnight in Tula
  3. White Eagle
  4. Dominion

CD8 – Logos Live

Released as Virgin V 2257 in December 1982

  1. Logos (Part 1)
  2. Logos (Part 2)
  3. Dominion

CD9 – Hyperborea

Released as Virgin V 2292 in November 1983

  1. No Man’s Land
  2. Hyperborea
  3. Cinnamon Road
  4. Sphinx Lightning

CD9 – Bonus tracks:

  1. The Dream is Always the Same
  2. No Future (Get off the Babysitter)
  3. Guido the Killer Pimp
  4. Lana
  5. Love on a Real Train (Risky Business)

Taken from the soundtrack album: ‘Risky Business’

Released as Virgin V 2302 in 1984

CD10 – The Keep

Soundtrack to the 1983 film directed by Michael Mann (Previously unreleased)

  1. Puer Natus Est Nobis (Gloria) (Thomas Tallis, arr. Edgar Froese)
  2. Arx Allemand (Edgar Froese)
  3. Truth and Fiction (Edgar Froese
  4. The Silver Seal (Edgar Froese / Johannes Schmoelling)
  5. Ancient Powerplant (Edgar Froese)
  6. Supernatural Accomplice (Edgar Froese)
  7. The Challenger’s Arrival (Edgar Froese)
  8. Heritage Survival (Edgar Froese / Christoph Franke / Johannes Schmoelling)
  9. Parallel Words (Edgar Froese / Johannes Schmoelling)
  10. Canzone (Edgar Froese / Johannes Schmoelling)
  11. Voices from a Common Land (Edgar Froese / Christoph Franke / Johannes Schmoelling)
  12. Wardays Sunrise (Edgar Froese)
  13. The Night in Romania (Edgar Froese)