OLIVIA RODRIGO to Reunite with ALANIS MORISSETTE at Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame Gala

The Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame (CSHF) has just announced the final round of presenters and performers to headline its highly anticipated Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame Gala on September 24 at Massey Hall in Toronto, ON with presenting partner The El Mocambo.

Powerhouse singer-songwriter Olivia Rodrigo will present Alanis Morissette with her induction into the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame. As part of the tribute, JUNO-winning artist for Songwriter of the Year Alessia Cara will perform in honour of the generational trailblazer who knocked down the door for unabashed female singer-songwriters. Rodrigo and Cara share in common the title of GRAMMY’s Best New Artist (Rodrigo in 2022, and Cara in 2018), as well as their outspoken affinity for an icon who paved the way, Alanis Morissette. JUNO-winning 2021 Breakthrough Artist of the Year, JP Saxe, best known for his 5x platinum smash hit “If the World Was Ending” will also be performing alongside previously announced artist Ruby Waters in the Morissette tribute.

Today’s announcement rounds out a cavalcade of star power to honour this year’s Inductees to the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame: Bryan Adams, Jim Vallance, Alanis Morissette, David Foster, and Daniel Lavoie. (Murray McLauchlan recently celebrated his induction at the 2022 Mariposa Folk Festival in July).

The announcement of Olivia Rodrigo as a presenter will mark the first time she will reunite with Morissette since the pair graced the cover of Rolling Stone (Oct 2021) and surprised concert fans in LA with a duet of “You Oughta Know” last May.  As one of today’s most definitive pop artists, Rodrigo has accredited Morissette for inspiring and shaping her songwriting craft.

“I remember hearing Alanis for the first time when I was about 13.  I was in the car with my parents when Jagged Little Pill came on.  I heard ‘Perfect,’ I was like, ‘Oh, my God…You can write songs like that?’ I just looked at music and songwriting in a completely different way,” said Rodrigo.

Previously announced performers include, Nickelback’s Chad Kroeger and Ryan Peake, Corey Hart, Jessie Reyez, Charlotte Cardin, Serena Ryder, Deborah Cox, Chicago’s Neil Donell, Pierre Lapointe, Maurice Moore, Bobby Bazini, Clerel, Bruno Pelletier, and Marie-Mai who will also host the Gala broadcast by SiriusXM. Tickets to the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame Gala on Saturday, September 24 are available through Massey Hall. For a full list of performers and special appearances visit cshf.ca.