Nineteenth Annual Maple Blues Awards – Here Are Your Nominees

The Maple Blues Awards is Canada’s national blues awards program. Its goal is to promote blues music across Canada, and to recognize outstanding achievement in the field.

Congratulations to all of the nominees this year, especially for keeping the blues alive in this country. Well deserved!

Entertainer Of The Year
The 24th Street Wailers
David Gogo
Steve Hill
Harrison Kennedy

Electric Act Of The Year
The 24th Street Wailers
Anthony Gomes
David Gogo
Steve Hill

Acoustic Act Of The Year
Big Dave McLean
Cécile Doo-Kingué
Harrison Kennedy
Michael Jerome Browne
Ross Neilsen

Male Vocalist Of The Year
Harrison Kennedy
John Mays
Jon Knight (Soulstack)
Kirby Sewell
Matt Andersen

Female Vocalist Of The Year
Angel Forrest
Cécile Doo-Kingué
Cheryl Lescom
Samantha Martin
Shakura S’Aida

New Artist Or Group Of The Year
Cécile Doo-Kingué
Jenie Thai
The Kirby Sewell Band
Samantha Martin & Delta Sugar
Sugar Brown

BB King International Artist Of The Year
Buddy Guy
Elvin Bishop
Eric Bibb
Mavis Staples
Sugaray Rayford

Recording/Producer Of The Year
Faded But Not Gone (Black Hen)
Artist: Big Dave McLean
Producer: Steve Dawson
Rich In Love (Stony PLain)
Artist: Colin Linden
Producers: Colin Linden, John Dymond & Gary Craig
This is From Here (Electro-Fi)
Artist: Harrison Kennedy
Producers: Harrison Kennedy & Jesse O’Brien
Chin Up (Nood)
Artist: John Campbelljohn
Producer: John Campbelljohn
Send the Nightingale (Rench)
Artists: Samantha Martin & Delta Sugar
Producer: Rench

Blues With A Feeling Award (Lifetime Achievement Award)
Diana Braithwaite
Alec Fraser
Danny Brooks
Ellen McIlwaine
Joe Murphy
Ken Whiteley
Michael Fonfara
Stephen Barry
Tom Lavin
Michael Jerome Browne
Brent Parkin
Theresa Malenfant

Guitar Player Of The Year
Brandon Isaak
David Gogo
John Campbelljohn
Michael Jerome Browne
Steve Hill

Harmonica Player Of The Year
Guy Bélanger
Harpdog Brown
Jerome Godboo
Roly Platt
Steve Marriner (MonkeyJunk)

Piano/Keyboard Player Of The Year
David Vest
Duane Blackburn (Blackburn)
Jesse O’Brien (Colin James, Harrison Kennedy)
Kenny “Blues Boss” Wayne
Mark Wessenger (Soulstack)

Horn Player Of The Year
Al Lerman (Fathead)
Chris Whiteley (Diana Braithwaite & Chris Whiteley)
Frank Thiffault (Ben Racine Band)
Jon Wong (The 24th Street Wailers)
Richard Thornton (Jack de Keyzer)

Drummer Of The Year
Chris Nordquist (Cannery Row)
Dave King (Steve Strongman)
Lindsay Beaver (The 24th Street Wailers)
Matt Sobb (MonkeyJunk)
Tom Bona (Soulstack, Raoul & The Big Time)

Bassist Of The Year
Alan Duffy (Jack de Keyzer)
Alec Fraser (Rick Fines, Fraser/Daley)
Keith Picot (Twisters, Brandon Isaak)
Leigh-Anne Stanton (Wicked Grin)
Owen Owen Owen (Dalannah & Owen)

Songwriter Of The Year
Big Dave McLean
Colin Linden
Harrison Kennedy
John Campbelljohn
Samantha Martin