CBC Personalities, Country Stars and Canadian Athletes to Present at the 2017 CCMA Awards

The Canadian Country Music Association and broadcast partner CBC have announced a complete list of star-studded presenters set to take the stage at the 2017 CCMA Awards Show. Catch all the action and some of Canada’s biggest names in television and country music on CBC at 8 p.m. (8:30 p.m. NT) on Sunday, September 10 when the CCMA Awards Show broadcasts from SaskTel Centre in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan.

CBC presenters include comedian Gerry Dee, the creator and star of MR. D; actors Paul Sun-Hyung Lee and Andrew Phung of CBC’s newest hit comedy, KIM’S CONVENIENCE; and resident dragon Manjit Minhas of DRAGONS’ DEN. Two of the new hosts of THE NATIONAL, Adrienne Arsenault and Andrew Chang, will also present an award, as well as Saskatchewan native Piya Chattopadhyay, host of CBC Radio One’s OUT IN THE OPEN; and CBC Music’s Raina Douris, host of RADIO 2 MORNING. Andi Petrillo, host of CBC Sports’ ROAD TO THE OLYMPIC GAMES will be joined on the CCMA stage by Saskatchewan-based U19 North American Indigenous Games competitor Kiana Joseph to present an award.

Great Big Sea frontman Alan Doyle will present on the 2017 CCMA Awards Show as will Lindsay Ell, who is nominated for Female Artist of the Year. Canadian broadcast icon Ron MacLean, SiriusXM Rising Star Award nominee, JoJo Mason, and three-time reigning CCMA Female Artist of the Year, Jess Moskaluke, will also present. GRAMMY-nominated, Nashville country artist Eric Paslay will be in Saskatoon to present, as will Aaron Pritchett, who is up for two CCMA Awards this year. Deric Ruttan, who just celebrated his fourth No. 1 U.S. country single for co-writing Jason Aldean’s “Any Ol’ Barstool” and Tebey, who just scored his first No. 1 U.S. single for his co-write on Justin Moore’s “Somebody Else Will” will each present as well. Saskatchewan Roughriders Kevin Glenn and Brendon LaBatte will add some home province pride to the line-up. Last but not least, special international guest, country superstar and judge of The Voice, Blake Shelton, will present the coveted Apple Music Fans’ Choice Award alongside this year’s CCMA Ultimate Fan Experience contest winner, Scott Sykes. Sykes was one of over one thousand fans who submitted a video and written answers explaining why he was Canada’s biggest Canadian country music fan. His PotashCorp Country Music Week and 2017 CCMA Awards experience will be captured September 7-10 on the official CCMA social handles (@CCMAofficial).

Eight CCMA Awards will be presented on the 2017 CCMA Awards Show, including the Apple Music Fans’ Choice Award. This prestigious award, voted on by country music fans, is once again stacked with powerhouse male artists: Gord Bamford, Dean Brody, Chad Brownlee, High Valley and Dallas Smith. This year, there are three ways for fans to engage with their favourite Canadian country music act and vote:

  • Visit fanvote.ccma.org and click on their favourite act,
  • Visit applemusic.com/CCMAawards and listen to their favourite act,
  • Take to social media and hashtag their choice for the Apple Music Fans’ Choice Award.

For full details on how to take advantage of these opportunities to vote for the 2017 Apple Music Fans’ Choice Award, CLICK HERE.

Fourteen memorable performances have been prepared for the 2017 CCMA Awards Show by Gord Bamford joined by Jim Cuddy, Dean Brody with Shevy Price, Chad Brownlee, Tim Hicks, High Valley, James Barker Band, Brett Kissel, Meghan Patrick, Madeline Merlo, Jess Moskaluke, Dallas Smith, The Washboard Union and international guests, Blake Shelton and Brett Young.

Leading up to the awards, CBC Music will offer exclusive CCMA Award content including artist interviews.

Starting at 5:30 p.m. ET on September 10th, fans can watch the stars walk the John Deere Green Carpet via CBCMusic.ca/CCMAAwards and CBC Music’s Facebook and YouTube pages.