Legendary Canadian Jazz Artist Molly Johnson Releases Vinyl Edition Of It’s A Snow Globe World + Announces Holiday Shows

Photo credit: Chris Nicholls

Renowned Canadian jazz vocalist, Molly Johnson, officially releases the vinyl edition of her most recent full-length album, It’s A Snow Globe World, today for the first time via Universal Music Canada, the country’s leading music company. You can purchase it here.

It’s A Snow Globe World was initially released by the JUNO-Award winner on October 29, 2021 on CD and digital formats. Her first holiday-themed album includes favourites “Don’t You Know It’s Christmas,” “This Holiday Season,” and more. The project was produced by John “Beetle” Bailey and executive produced by Johnson herself.

The new vinyl edition arrives several months after the iconic singer-songwriter was awarded the Governor General’s Performing Arts Award for Lifetime Artistic Achievement. Johnson was also honoured this year as a Chevalier in l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres in France.

Molly Johnson’s voice is a distinctive national treasure. A singer-songwriter, artist, broadcaster, and philanthropist, Johnson’s roots are Canadian while her reach is worldwide. Perhaps most associated with the iconic jazz vocal styling she has honed, Johnson has performed with such diverse artists as Tom Jones, Céline Dion, Anne Murray, Lenny Kravitz, Tom Cochrane, Stéphane Grapelli, Jackie Richardson, Peter Appleyard, and many more. Molly Johnson has performed for the legendary Quincy Jones as well as the late Princess of Wales and Nelson Mandela. In 2009, she received the JUNO Award for Best Vocal Jazz Album and the National Jazz Award for Best Female Vocalist. Johnson is a recipient of the Queen’s Jubilee Medal, was honoured with the Officer of the Order of Canada in recognition of her charitable work and contributions to the arts, and recently she was presented with the Governor General’s Performing Arts Award for lifetime artistic achievement.

The 6-time JUNO-Award nominee will be performing a string of magical holiday shows between December 11-13 at Roy Thomson Hall with the Toronto Symphony Orchestra Principal Pops Conductor Steven Reineke and the Etobicoke School of the Arts Holiday Chorus. Tickets are available here.

It’s A Snow Globe World Tracklisting:

Side A:
1. Don’t You Know It’s Christmas
2. Painted Blue
3. I Don’t Like Christmas (When You’re Not Around)
4. This Holiday Season
5. Christmas in Hopetown

Side B:
6. Winter Wonderland
7. Brighter Day (feat. Billy Newton-Davis)
8. Maybe This Year
9. What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve?
10. Winter’s Got Spring Up Its Sleeve