Music Inspired By “The Black Prince” Set For July 14 Featuring Nelly Furtado, Talib Kweli, Ozomatli, Chali 2na

Sammy Chand’s Los Angeles based label, Rukus Avenue, announced today their release The Black Prince, Music Inspired By The Motion Picture, set for digital release worldwide on July 14th.

Executive produced by Chand and the film’s producer Jasjeet Singh and produced by Chand and Canada’s Raoul Juneja, The Black Prince – Music Inspired by the Motion Picture will feature the film’s star Satinder Sartaaj, Talib Kweli, Emmanuel Jal & Nelly Furtado, Tisha Campbell Martin, Sammy Chand, AK aka Amazing, Ozomatli, Chali 2na, and more.

“This album tells the story of The Black Prince through a modern sound with some great artists,” says Sammy Chand. “The collection of artists on this album is a testament to how fascinating the true story and legacy of Maharaja Duleep Singh truly was. Even in its tragic form, there is so much for us to take away from his life.  For me it’s an honor to be involved with this film.”

Legendary American hip-hop artist Talib Kweli appears on the Indian hip-hop anthem “Make Way For The Black Prince” produced by Chand featuring Raxstar, one of the UK’s biggest names in hip-hop. Award-winning American actress/singer Tisha Campbell-Martin (“My Wife and Kids”, “Martin”) also appears on a duet with “The Black Prince” film’s star Satinder Sartaaj, produced by Chand and George Kallis as the world’s first American and Punjabi R&B ballad.

Tisha Campbell-Martin also appears on a song with Chand called “Don’t Walk Away.”  The song captures the story of Lady Bamba, the wife of the Maharaja, in her plight to hold on to her marriage and her husband from moving on without her, to fight for his kingdom.  The emblematic Sammy Chand sound with Tisha’s beautiful delivery shines on this album, and tells the often forgotten love story among the husband and wife.
The Black Prince – Music Inspired by the Motion Picture

Releasing worldwide on Rukus Avenue Music Group : July 14th, 2017

  1. The Tale of The Maharaja (Part 1) – AK aka Amazing
  2. Make Way For The Black Prince – Sammy Chand, Talib Kweli, Hoodini & Raxstar
  3. Don’t Walk Away – Tisha Campbell Martin
  4. The Calling – Satinder Sartaaj
  5. Shabana Pal – Sammy Chand & Satinder Sartaaj
  6. Butterfly – Ozark Henry
  7. Koh-i-Noor – Saum G
  8. The Tale of The Maharaja (Part 2) – AK
  9. The Motherland – Prashant Aswani
  10. Beet Jania’n – Satinder Sartaaj & Tisha Campbell Martin
  11. Duaon Se Roshan – Andrew T Mackay ft Meghdeep Bose
  12. Scars – Emmanuel Jal & Nelly Furtado
  13. Life Won’t Pass Me By – Sammy Chand, Ozomatli & Chali 2na
  14. Elveden – Raaginder Momi
  15. The Tale of The Maharaja (Part 3) – AK